BSP announces candidates from 16 more seats | chandigarh | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 27, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

BSP announces candidates from 16 more seats

chandigarh Updated: Sep 18, 2014 20:27 IST
Vishal Joshi

Differences among various ranks of the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) were witnessed on Thursday when the state leadership released second list of its candidates from 16 assembly constituencies.

At a hurriedly-called press conference, the BSP state president Naresh Saran released the list. BSP’s chief ministerial candidate Arvind Sharma, who is a resident of Karnal city, remained absent. Close aides of Arvind Sharma, who manage his political office here, were not even aware of the schedule to release the list of candidates by the BSP president or the names of the candidates.

Saran preferred to brief the media at the residence of BSP candidate from Maratha Virender Verma at his residence at Jhanjhari village, located on the outskirts of the city.

Pursuing her formula of social engineering in Haryana and to woo the non-Jat voters, BSP president Mayawati had decided to project Sharma as the part’s CM candidate. Three-time parliamentarian Sharma had quit the Congress after the Lok Sabha elections to join the BSP.

Insiders claim that there was some discomfort between the CM candidate and the party leadership on various issues including forging an alliance with other regional parties and the BSP nominees.

However, talking to Hindustan Times later, Saran denied that there were any differences with Sharma.

“Candidates were announced today after they were cleared by our party president Mayawati. Schedule of the release of candidates was decided by the state leadership on the directions of the senior national leaders,” he said while evading a direct reply on why Sharma was not present at the time of announcement of the candidates.

However, he said that BSP had made the entire political strategy for Sharma and he had full support from all quarters.

“BSP is set for the elections and Sharma is still making his mind to opt the constituency he would like to contest from,” said the state president. In its first list released in July, the BSP had declared its 17 candidates.

Reiterating party’s stand that the BSP would contest without any alliance, Saran said that names of rest of the 57 candidates would be announces soon.

“There is not truth in the claims that the BSP may participate in any mega political alliance. BSP leadership including party president Mayawati and national vice president Raja Ram have clarified several times in the media we will contest in the Haryana assembly polls without forging any alliance with any party. Our party will field candidates on all 90 assembly segments,” he said.

List of candidates announced today: Sudama Baudh (Barwala); Rajwanti (Bawal-SC); Mahesh Rana (Hodal-SC); Surinder Yadav (Nangal Chaudhary); Gopiral Chalia (Jhahhar-SC); Dalbir Mann (Guhla-SC); Karnail Singh Nagla (Mullana-SC); Ajit Singh (Pataudi-SC); Rajesh Soni (Meham); SC Sharma (Barauda); Sanjay Pehalwan (Buwani Khera-SC); Sudhir Gautam (Jind); Javed Ahmed (Sohna); Tayeb Hussain (Hathin); Ram Singh Kodwa (Naraingarh); and Subash Solanki (Kharkhauda-SC).