Ceremony of 'Jang-e-Azaadi' memorial postponed | chandigarh | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 22, 2017-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Ceremony of 'Jang-e-Azaadi' memorial postponed

chandigarh Updated: Sep 30, 2014 19:51 IST
Hindustan Times
Fatehgarh Sahib

Punjab government has decided to postpone the state level function to mark the foundation stone laying ceremony of the prestigious 'Jang-e-Azaadi', memorial to be constructed at Kartarpur near Jalandhar over an area of 25 acre at a cost of Rs 200, by a week.

Disclosing this here on Tuesday a spokesperson of the chief minister's Office said that now this function would be held on October 19, instead of October 12 as announced earlier.

Meanwhile, Punjab chief Minister Mr. Parkash Singh Badal on Tuesday also held a series of meetings, here at Punjab Bhawan, with the senior leaders of the SAD-BJP included cabinet ministers, chief parliamentary secretaries, MLAs besides the officers of the state government to finalize the arrangements of the foundation laying ceremony of this world class state-of-the-art memorial, which would showcase the enormous contribution made by the Punjabis during the national freedom struggle.

During deliberations with the leaders from Bathinda, Mansa, Ferozepur, Fazilka, Sri Muktsar Sahib, Faridkot, Patiala, SAS Nagar, Rupnagar, Moga, Barnala and Sangrur districts,. Badal solicited maximum participation of the people from across the state to acknowledge the enormous contribution made by the unsung heroes and martyrs especially from Punjab in the country's freedom movement.

Chief minister said that this memorial would showcase the unprecedented valour and commitment of our forefathers to free our motherland from the yoke of British imperialism. He expressed hope that the upcoming memorial after completion would prove to be a beacon to kindle the spirit of nationalism amongst the future generations.

Prominent amongst others who were present on the occasion included Senior Akali Leaders and Member Rajya Sabha ,Sukhdev Singh Dhindsa and Balwinder Singh Bhundar, Madan Mohan Mittal, Janmejha Singh Sekhon, Sikandar Singh Maluka, Surjit Singh Rakhra, Dr.DS Cheema all Cabinet Ministers, NK Sharma, Sant Balbir Singh Ghunas, Parkash Chand Garg, all chief parliamentary secretaries , Hari Singh Zira,Jit Mohinder Singh Sidhu, Sarup Chand Singla senior leaders of Shiromani Akali Dal and BJP from Ropar, Mohali, Fatehgarh Sahib, Patiala, Sangrur, Barnala, Mansa, Bathinda, Ferozepur, Fazilka, Muktsar and Faridkot districts besides deputy commissioners of all these districts.

Tata Tea’s Anthem of apathy
Partnered feature