Chandigarh lose to Ambala for third consecutive defeat | chandigarh | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 25, 2017-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Chandigarh lose to Ambala for third consecutive defeat

chandigarh Updated: Jul 07, 2014 13:38 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times

Ambala inflicted third successive loss on Chandigarh in the Haryana inter-district under-25 tournament match being played at Government Model Senior Secondary School, Sector 26, on Sunday.

Earlier, Chandigarh was defeated by Kurukshetra and Panchkula.

On Sunday, batting first, Ambala were all out for 189 in 35.2 overs. Raman was the top scorer, making 52 runs off 45 balls. Parth was the other notable contributor, making 51 runs off 65 balls. Rituraj also came good with the bat with a cameo of 25 runs off 31 balls. For Chandigarh, Parth was the pick of the bowlers. He claimed five wickets for 50 runs. Karan snared two wickets for 23 runs. Chasing the total, Chandigarh were all out for 137 in 32 overs.

Gourav fought a lonely battle making fighting 41 runs off 36 balls. The other notable scorer was Sandeep with 11 runs off 26 balls. Sahib Singh was the pick of the bowlers for the winners. He snared six wickets for 23. Parth took two wickets for 18 runs.

On Saturday, Kurukshetra had defeated Chandigarh by three wickets. Batting first, Chandigarh were bundled out for 117 in 31.2 overs. Kapil Punia made 23, while Shubham Mahajan scored 25 runs off 44 balls. Sumit took three wickets for 29 runs for Kurukshetra. Navdeep and Shivang took two wickets apiece for 23 and five runs, respectively.

Chasing, Kurukshetra made 118 for the loss of seven wickets in 35.5 overs. Shubham made 27 runs off 58 balls, while Navdeep scored 24 runs. Sandeep, with 31 runs off 41 balls, inclusive of six hits to the fence, was top scorer. Brief scores: Ambala: 189 all out in 35.2 overs (Raman 52, Parth 51, Paras 5 for 50); Chandigarh: 137 all out in 32 overs (Gourav 41, Sahib Singh 6 for 23). On Saturday: Chandigarh: 117 all out in 31.2 overs (Shubham Mahajan 25, Sumit 3 for 29); Kurukshetra: 118 for 7 in 35.5 overs (Sandeep 31, Karan 4 for 8).