Chatrath group, allies ties sour over seat sharing | chandigarh | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 29, 2017-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Chatrath group, allies ties sour over seat sharing

chandigarh Updated: Dec 17, 2014 14:15 IST
Vinod Kumar

Ties appear to have turned sour between Gopal Krishan Chatrath group and its allied group led by Satya Pal Jain.
Chatrath-led alliance had on Monday seized control over the Panjab University syndicate by securing 10 out of the total 15 seats at stake, while their rival group led by Ashok Goyal had to contend with five seats.

Chatrath group contested on two seats against agreed upon formula of one-man, one-seat, much to the chagrin of its allies - Jain and his team.

To work out the seat-sharing formula, all the allies had formed a five-member committee, which agreed to allocate seats on the principle of oneman, one-seat and rotation.

Chatrath and prof Ronki Ram contested for the syndicate seats from law and combined faculties respectively. Going against the seat-sharing formula, Chatrath also contested for deanship of law faculty, while prof Ronki Ram was also fielded from arts faculty and both won their respective seats.

Unhappy with the turn of the events, Jain group fielded their candidate prof SK Tomar against prof Naresh Tulli from Chatrath - campus faculty group. Tomar lost the election by two votes informed senior member of the group prof K Tankeshwar.

The Chatrath group is supported by the DAV and BJP lobby, while Ashok Goyal is backed by a faction led by Dr Hardiljit Singh Gosal. Both the groups enjoy the support of different factions of the faculty members on the campus.

Of 10 seats, Chatrath group has four, campus faculty three, DAV two and BJP one. Group led by Goyal is the single largest group with five seats.

Local Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Satya Pal Jain said they do not approve of Chatrath group not honouring the agreed upon seat-sharing formula. “They should have respected the decision of the committee as our group has,” said Jain.

On the possibility of parting their way with the alliance, Jain said they were yet to take a call on continuing with the alliance in the syndicate. Chatrath said all was well and we will iron out the differences if there are any.

What is syndicate?

The executive administration of the university is vested in the syndicate, which consists of vice-chancellor as chairman; director of public instruction (Punjab and Chandigarh); not less than 12 or more than 15 ex-officio or ordinary fellows elected by the faculties in such manner and for such period as may be prescribed by the regulations three members each are elected from arts, science and combined faculties and two each from languages, law and medical sciences.

What is faculty?

There are a total of 11 faculties - five major and six minor - in different disciplines such as arts, sciences, medicine, law, business management and commerce. Each faculty comprises university professors, who are ex-officio members; chairpersons of respective disciplines and senators, who have opted for that particular faculty.'