Deodhar Trophy: Bhajji to captain North Zone | chandigarh | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 25, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Deodhar Trophy: Bhajji to captain North Zone

chandigarh Updated: Mar 19, 2014 12:18 IST
HT Correspondent

India spinner Harbhajan Singh will lead the north zone in the Prof DB Deodhar Trophy tournament to be played at Vizag from March 23 to 27. Another India player Gautam Gambhir has been named the vice captain of the team.

This was decided in the zonal selection committee meeting held at PCA Cricket Stadium, SAS Nagar. The meeting was convened by Sunil Dev, Convener north zone and was chaired by national selector Vikram Rathour.

The other members of the selection committee were Bhupinder Singh Sr, Punjab, Rajesh Bawa, Haryana, Gp Capt RK Raksha, SSCB, Shiban Lal, JKCA, Sanjeev Sharma DDCA and Prem Thakur, Himachal.

The North zone will meet South zone in the semifinal at Visakhapatnam on March 24. The team will assemble in Delhi and leave for Vizag on March 22.

Team: Harbhajan Singh (captain), Gautam Gambhir (vice captain), Prashant Chopra, Virender Sehwag, Rajat Paliwal, Mandeep Singh, Milind Kumar, Gurkirat Singh Mann, Parvez Rasool, Rishi Dhawan, Ishant Sharma, Siddharth Kaul, Ashish Nehra, A Sakuja and Nitin Saini ( wicket keeper); stand bye: Unmukat Chand, Suraj Yadav, Nikhil Gangta, A Sinha.