Devinder group registers victory in PUTA elections | chandigarh | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 22, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Devinder group registers victory in PUTA elections

chandigarh Updated: Aug 22, 2013 22:39 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story

The Devinder group secured a thumping majority by winning four out of the total five seats in the Panjab University Teachers' Association (PUTA) elections held on Thursday.

Devinder Singh from the law department had earlier lost two elections in the recent past, but defeated Mohammed Khalid from the department of evening studies, who was re-contesting for the post of president from Khalid group.
Devinder won 366 votes, while Khalid managed only 242.

Only Jayanti Dutta from the Academic Staff College, who was re-contesting as secretary from the Khalid group, could retain her seat.

In the thirteen-member executive group, the Khalid group could win only one seat in the executive group - 1. Popular face of the group Akshaya Kumar from the English department won this seat.

While some are attributing the result of PUTA elections to the anti-incumbency factor of the Khalid group, which had majority of the positions, for the past two years.

There are others who are seeing the outcome as a result of politics by the syndicate and senate to 'wrest control' over the teachers body.

Senator Ashok Goyal and another teachers' leader Tankeshwar Prasad had joined hands and backed the Devinder group in these elections.

Winning presidential candididate, Devinder Singh said after the win, "It is a historic win. We will revive PUTA and try to fulfill the promises we made in our manifesto."

Singh's competitor Khalid Mohammed said, "We worked sincerely and dedicatedly for the community. The community has given their verdict in favour of the other group and we respect their verdict."

The Devinder group also secured win in most of the executive groups. Keshav Malhotra from the department of evening studies and Jatinder Grover from the University School of Open Learning were elected unopposed.

Barring Akshaya Kumar (executive group - 1) who is a prominent face of the Khalid group, ten seats went to the Devinder group, in the other executive groups.

Those who won in executive groups are Asha Maudgil from philosophy department, Jaskaran Singh from defense studies and Meenu Gupta from the English department in the executive group - 1.

Executive group -2 winners are Anju Rao from Botany department, Samarjit Singh Sihotra and Tankeshwar Kumar from the computer centre and Vijayta D Chadha from nuclear medicine, all from the Devinder group.

In executive group-3 , all panelists who won are from the Devinder group - Gaurav Verma from chemical engineering department, Kalpana Dahiya from University Institute of Engineering and Technology and Litesh Singla from dental sciences.

The newly found panel is also being considered as the youngest PUTA panel in the recent past. All winners who have won are around forty-year-old - Devinder Singh (41), Ashok Sabharwal (42), Harveen Kaur (35), Jivesh Bansal (37) and Jayanti Dutta (around 40).