Double victories for Punjab | chandigarh | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 28, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Double victories for Punjab

chandigarh Updated: Dec 26, 2014 15:11 IST
HT Correspondent

Punjab boys and girls teams put up fine performances to register wins in their respective matches of the 41st Junior National Volleyball Championship, being organised at Shivalik Public School, Sector 41, and Sector-7 Sports Complex, on Thursday.

In the boys’ section, Punjab thrashed Tripura with a set score of 3-0. In the other matches of the section, Andhra Pradesh also brought down Chhattisgarh 3-0, while Himachal Pradesh got the better of Uttarakhand 3-2 in a close contest. In another thriller, Delhi pipped West Bengal 3-2.

The rest of the matches were lopsided affair, with Uttar Pradesh defeating Jharkhand, Tamil Nadu ousting Haryana, and Gujarat getting the better of Pondicherry, all with identical scores of 3-0. Also, Sports Authority of India (SAI) team defeated Jammu & Kashmir, Assam brought down Himachal Pradesh, Karnataka downed Manipur, and Kerala beat Bihar. The scoreline in all these matches was also 3-0.

In the girls’ matches, Punjab eves carried on the good work started by their male counterparts earlier in the day, defeating Jammu & Kashmir 3-0.

On the other hand, Kerala defeated Karnataka, Uttarakhand trumped Pondicherry and the SAI team got the better of Rajasthan, all with identical scoreline of 3-0. In other matches, Assam defeated Bihar 3-1, and Haryana pipped Uttar Pradesh 3-2.

Results Boys’ section: Andhra Pradesh bt Chhattisgarh 3-0; Punjab bt Tripura 3-0; Uttar Pradesh bt Jharkhand 3-0; Tamil Nadu bt Haryana 3-0; HP bt Uttarakhand 3-2; Gujarat bt Pondicherry 3- 0; SAI bt J& K 3- 0; Assam bt Himachal Pradesh 3- 0; Karnataka bt Manipur 3-0; Delhi bt West Bengal 3-2; Kerala bt
Bihar 3-0.

Girls’ section: Kerala bt Karnataka 3-0; Uttarakhand bt Pondicherry 3-0; Assam bt Bihar 3-1; Punjab bt J&K 3-0; Haryana bt Uttar Pradesh 3-2; Gujarat bt Chhattisgarh 3-0; SAI bt Rajasthan 3-0; Maharashtra bt Andhra Pradesh 3-0; Himachal Pradesh bt Chandigarh 3-0; West Bengal bt Telangana 3-0; Tamil Nadu bt Goa 3-0; Delhi bt Madhya Pradesh 3-0; Uttarakhand bt Bihar 3-0; SAI bt Odisha 3-0.