Former Faridabad MP likely to contest from Sohna | chandigarh | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 25, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Former Faridabad MP likely to contest from Sohna

chandigarh Updated: Sep 04, 2014 15:04 IST
Prabhu Razdan

Former Faridabad MP Avtar Singh Bhadana, who recently quit the Congress party to join the Indian National Lok Dal (INLD), is likely to contest the assembly elections from Sohna.

Bhadana has been a three-time MP from Faridabad and once from Meerut, wields influence among the Gujjar community. The Gujjar leader has chosen Sohna because the constituency has mostly Gujjars and Meo voters. “Since he has represented Faridabad Lok Sabha seat which earlier comprised of Firozpur Jhirka, Punhana, Nuh — now part of Gurgaon Lok Sabha seat — Bhadana feels he has a grip on the voters in these areas which are closer to Sohna,” sources said.

Bhadana joined the INLD on August 20 in presence of senior INLD leader Abhay Chautala.

“The Chautala’s have almost put their stamp on Bhadana’s candidature from Sohna. The party is hoping that the move would help them win in Palwal, Hathin, Hodal and other seats in Gurgaon and Mewat districts,” sources said. Being a resident of Faridabad, the move could also help INLD win some seats in Faridabad such as Bhadkal, NIT, among others.

In 2009 assembly election, the Sohna assembly seat was won by Dharamveer Singh of Congress.

However, the seat fell vacant after Dharamveer defected to the Bharatiya Janata Party during 2014 Parliamentary polls. He won a Lok Sabha seat from Mahindergarh-Bhawani.

Bhadana, who won the Faridabad Lok Sabha seat in 1991, 2004 and 2009 on Congress ticket, suffered a drubbing during 2014 election when BJP’s Krishanpal Gurjar defeated him with a margin of 4.60 lakh votes.

While welcoming him into the INLD, Abhey Chautala had said that Bhadana was a Gujjar leader of mass base and hoped that INLD would benefit with his return to the party. Bhadana had accused Haryana CM Bhupinder Singh Hooda of hatching conspiracies against senior Congress leaders of Haryana. SIngh had opposed his candidature for Haryana CM in 2009 for second term.

He cited instances of senior Congress leaders like Venod Sharma, Rao Inderjeet Singh, Birender Singh, Captain Ajay Yadav, Kiran Chaudhary, Kumari Sheilja, Maghe Ram Gupta, who he alleged were either forced to leave the party or were harassed on one pretext or other.