GK re-elected DSGMC president | chandigarh | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 19, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

GK re-elected DSGMC president

chandigarh Updated: Feb 27, 2015 21:27 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times

The general House of the Delhi Sikh Gurdwara Management Committee (DSGMC) on Friday re-elected Manjit Singh GK as president and Manjinder Singh Sirsa as general secretary, respectively, for a two-year term.

The posts of senior vice-president, vice-president and joint secretary have new incumbents, SPS Chadha, Satpal Singh and Amarjeet Singh Pappu, respectively. The 10-member executive board also has new faces.

Earlier, Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) president Sukhbir Singh Badal had cleared the names of all incumbents and given it to the party's Delhi affairs incharge, Balwant Singh Ramoowalia.

Of the 49 members in the general House who took part in the voting, four voted against SAD candidates. Bibi Daljit Kaur Khalsa, fielded as the presidential candidate by former DSGMC chief Paramjit Singh Sarna's faction, got these four votes, while GK bagged 45 votes. Other incumbents were elected unopposed.

The DSGMC general House has 55 members, including 46 elected by the Sikh electorate, four co-opted and one nominated by the Shiromani Gurdwara Parbandhak Committee (SGPC), while four others are head priests of four Takhts. The head priests are associate members and don't have voting rights. Of the 46 elected members, Gurmeet Singh Shanty abstained from the meeting, while Satnam Singh Aulakh has died.

Of the eight members of the Sarna faction, five voted in favour of the elected incumbents. Commenting on the election, Sarna claimed that two members of the Badal faction, Daljit Kaur and Shanty, had joined him.

"Unlike the previous elections, the poll was held on schedule and in the most peaceful manner," said GK, adding that the past two years had been most productive for the DSGMC as issues related to Sikhs were taken up and the committee also played a key role in setting up of the special investigation team to investigate 1984 riots cases.

Akal Takht jathedar Giani Gurbachan Singh, Takht Keshgarh Sahib jathedar Giani Mal Singh and Takht Patna Sahib jathedar Giani Iqbal Singh also attended the elections. Directorate of Delhi gurdwara elections had appointed K Nand Kumar and Sunil Sehgal as observers.