Half the winners are first timers | chandigarh | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 27, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Half the winners are first timers

chandigarh Updated: Feb 27, 2015 12:37 IST
HT Correspondent

Of the 50 candidates who won the SAS Nagar municipal corporation (MC) elections on Thursday, at least 27 are first-time lucky.

Among these 27 include young guns in mid-twenties with no prior experience of politics, but are all charged up to do everything possible for the residents.

Meanwhile, residents posing faith in first-time candidates and helping them win with heavy majority points to the trend that they want a change. It was a well-placed strategy by both SAD-BJP alliance and Congress to field new faces.

One such candidate is Taranjit Kaur Gill, who was fielded by the Congress from ward number 16 where she won after getting 723 votes. Her nearest rival Karanjit Kaur of SAD got 447 votes. In ward number 22 also, Surjit Kaur Sodhi of Congress got 510 votes of the total 1,243 votes of the ward. Another first timer Parvinder Singh, a SAD candidate from ward 35, got 613 of the total 937 votes polled, defeating Devinder Singh Virk of Congress who got 324 votes.

Meanwhile there were a few others who facing tough challenge emerged as winners.

Youngest candidate placed third

Harkamalpreet, 21, a final-year student contesting independently from the all-men ward number 36, managed 164 votes and stood third. Ahead of her is the winning candidate, BJP’s Shinder Pal Singh who got 605 votes, while Tejinder Singh of Congress, who got 434 votes, was placed second. Harkamal did better than two other candidates from her ward who got just 13 and 48 votes. “I am not upset. This is just the beginning. I shall continue to work for the people and will contest again,” she said.

Unique wins

Newbie faces tough competition
Sahibee Anand (BJP)
The 25-year-old got 504 of the 1,693 votes in ward number 20. While SAD-BJP settled on dividing seats in all other wards, both parties fielded their respective candidates in this ward. But SAD’s Narinder Singh Lamba got 283 votes, even lesser than Congress candidate Nirmal Kaushal’s 337 votes. “It is due to the trust posed in me by my party and residents of the ward that I have got elected. My focus will be on developing the ward.”

She won in all-men ward
Ramanpreet Kaur (SAD)
The lone woman candidate in ward number 39, Ramanpreet Kaur, 39, contesting on SAD ticket, won after getting 550 votes. Kaur is said to have a reputation in the ward for always lending a helping hand to anyone in need, which seemed to have worked in her favour in the elections. “This is the beginning of my political career and I will work to reach far limits. My aim will be to remain accessible to people all the time.”

First timer wins with maximum majority
Sarabjeet Singh (IND)
Sarabjeet, who contested from ward number 25, won with a lead of 875 votes, having polled 1,114 votes. He is the son of real estate baron and SAD rebel Kulwant Singh. Though he was given a ticket by SAD, he followed in his father’s footsteps and contest independently. After Sarabjeet returned his ticket, SAD fielded Manjit Singh Lubana, who managed just 149 votes. “While youth will be my priority I will focus on all issues related to my ward.”