Haryana: Cong’s Jai Tirath wins Rai assembly seat by 3 votes

  • HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times, Chandigarh
  • Updated: Oct 19, 2014 22:16 IST

Rai assembly segment of Sonepat district witnessed a very close contest in which Congress candidate (incumbent MLA) Jai Tirath won by three votes against Inderjit Singh of Indian National Lok Dal (INLD). Tirath polled 36,703 votes, while Inderjit Singh got 36,700 votes. Bharatiya Janata Party’s (BJP) Krishna Gahlawat polled 34,523 votes in a triangular contest.

Meanwhile, Ranjit Kaushik of Haryana Janhit Congress (BL) polled 3,299 votes, and BSP candidate Satyapal Chauhan received 2,837 votes. Comrade Devender Singh of SUCI bagged 542 votes, while 477 voters exercised None of the Above (NOTA) Option.

Three other candidates who polled equal votes were Balbir of SMBHP and Jagbir and Naveen Kumar, both independent candidates, who received 37 votes each. Paramjit, an independent candidate polled 646 votes.

Sources said though INLD candidate Inderjit Singh was leading in round two, but thereafter when the counting of ballot papers were done, Jai Tirath defeated him by three votes.

A total of 15 candidates had entered the fray from the Rai constituency.

Among those who were in fray included candidates from the Haryana Janhit Congress (BL) and BSP, besides the Independents.

Krishan Kumar of BJP, too, managed to scrap through the Shahbad seat by beating INLD’s Ram Karan by just 562 votes.

Meanwhile, Umesh Aggarwal of BJP defeated Gopi Chand Gahlot of INLD in Gurgaon by 84,095 votes, which is the biggest margin so far in this Haryana assembly elections.

BJP’s Manohar Lal Khattar has won the Karnal seat by a big margin of 63,773 votes. He defeated Independent candidate Jai Parkash Gupta.

BJP’s Rohita Rewri has also emerged as a big winner as she beat Virender Kumar Shah of Congress by 53721 votes to bag the Panipat assembly seat.

also read

Haryana assembly polls: Congress may save face, but not the grace
Show comments