Haryana polls: INLD names 8 more candidates | chandigarh | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 26, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Haryana polls: INLD names 8 more candidates

chandigarh Updated: Sep 20, 2014 21:06 IST
HT Correspondent

The Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) declared eight more candidates in its third list and changed its candidate from Mahendergarh seat on Saturday.

INLD leader Abhay Chautala said Bhim Mahajan had been fielded from Hisar, Umed Lohan from Hansi, Tejvir Singh (Pundri), Kishore Yadav (Sohna), Dr Kapur Singh Narwal (Baroda), KC Bangar (Gohana), Satish Mahant Dass (Meham) and Raj Kumar Sharma from Rohtak.

While Tejvir had remained an MLA, Bangar, Lohan and Narwal had contested elections unsuccessfully earlier. Mahajan, Sharma and Yadav will contest their first election. Dass headed a local religious institution at Meham.

Abhay said the party had also changed its candidate Rao Bahadur Singh from Mahendergarh constituency and now Nirmala Tanwar was given the party ticket. “The change in candidature was on the request of Rao Bahadur Singh himself,” he held. Nirmala was also contesting first time.

With this, the INLD has declared its 81 candidates, leaving nine seats, names for which were likely to be announced by September 23, he said.

The remaining seats include Ambala and Kalanwali, for which the Shiromani Akali Dal would be fielding its candidates. On seven other seats INLD will field its candidates. These included Uchana Kalan, Dabwali and Ladwa, represented by INLD supremo Om Prakash Chautala, his elder son Ajay Chautala and another INLD leader, Sher Singh Badshami, respectively. The trio is currently in jail in connection with JBT recruitment case. The remaining four seats from candidates are yet to named are Faridabad, Badkhal, Panipat (rural) and Kalanaur.

INLD candidates

Bhim Mahajan: Hisar
Umed Lohan: Hansi
Tejvir Singh: Pundri
Kishore Yadav: Sohna
Kapur Singh Narwal: Baroda
KC Bangar: Gohana
Satish Mahant Dass: Meham
Raj Kumar Sharma: Rohtak