HC directs HUDA administrator to reply on allotting numerous plots illegally to defence officers | chandigarh | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 25, 2017-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

HC directs HUDA administrator to reply on allotting numerous plots illegally to defence officers

chandigarh Updated: Sep 01, 2013 01:17 IST
Sanjeev Verma

Glaring irregularities about defence officers getting allotted more than one plot of Haryana Urban Development Authority (HUDA) in various districts under reserve defence category on the basis of bogus affidavits have come out before the Punjab and Haryana high court.

Taking serious view, the high court has called upon HUDA administrator to explain as to how more than one plot was allotted to 36 defence officers by concealing facts that they already owned a HUDA plot under same category.

Justice Daya Chaudhary issued directions while granting anticipatory bail to one such Indian Army Colonel, Dharam Singh Yadav, 45, posted with 6 Bihar Batallion, NCC at Gaya in Bihar. Yadav owns eight reserve category HUDA plots in Sonepat, Gurgaon, Hissar and Rewari districts and his brother Karan Singh Yadav, also defence officer, owns 11 HUDA plots in various districts.

FIR was registered against Yadav and his brother on July 12 under section 420 (cheating) and 193 (false evidence) of the Indian Penal Code at police station civil lines, Gurgaon, on Gurgaon based property dealer’s complaint. Earlier, additional sessions judge, Gurgaon, had dismissed Yadav’s anticipatory bail on August 1.

During hearing of the case on Saturday, HUDA’s counsel as well as its officials were not able to satisfy the court as to how numerous plots were allotted to the defence personnel.

Justice Chaudhary granted bail to the petitioner so that truth of the case comes out with the condition that Yadav would co-operate with the investigating officer. The petitioner’s counsel gave details of 34 defence officers who owned more than one HUDA plot.

34 defence officers who are illegal beneficiaries

Ramesh Chander Bansal s/o Bhagwan Das (11 plots), Dharamveer Singh s/o Amir Singh (9), SL Dua s/o Ram Lal (5), HS Yadav s/o Bihari Lal (5), Daulat Ram Khola s/o Amir Singh (5), Narender Yadav s/o Lala Ram (5), Zile Singh s/o Devi Singh (4), Aman Singh Yadav s/o Chandu Lal (4), Ranbeer Singh Nain s/o Hawa Singh (3), Ram Chander s/o Sri Ram (3), Hari Krishan Sahoo s/o Kripa Ram (3), Arvind Nain s/o BS Nain (3), Arun Nain s/o BS Nain (3), Satender Sud s/o Balraj (3), Ashok Kumar Kuwar s/o Jagpal Singh (3), Vikas Khamboj s/o Hansraj (3), JK Pathak s/o Raj Kumar Pathak (3), Dilbagh Singh s/o Prithi Singh (3), BS Nain s/o Bhage Ram (2), Zile Singh s/o Manke Ram (2), Amir Singh Huda s/o Prithvi Singh (2), Amit Deswal s/o Rishi Raj (2), Devender Yadav s/o Harphool Singh (2), Devender Yadav s/o Harphool Singh (2), Fakeer Chand Chauhan s/o Neki Ram (2), Ajay Veer Chauhan s/o Phool Kumar (2), Sachin Phogat s/o Balwan Singh (2), Tejvir Singh s/o Karan Singh (2), Kitab Kaur w/o Ram Karan (2), KP Chauhan s/o Gajraj Singh (2), Ajay Vir Chauhan s/o Phool Kumar (2), Vinod Manchanda s/o DP Manchanda (2), Lala Ram Yadav s/o Ishwar Singh (2) and Ramesh Kumar s/o Dhajja Ram (2).