Heartburn, as turncoats favoured over BJP loyalists | chandigarh | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 25, 2017-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Heartburn, as turncoats favoured over BJP loyalists

chandigarh Updated: Sep 22, 2014 13:45 IST
Sat Singh and Vishal Joshi

The Bharatiya Janata Party’s declaration of 90 candidates for the Haryana assembly polls has come as a shocker for many of its committed workers who were ignored, while turncoats from the Congress and Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) managed to get tickets.

The ticket distribution has invited sharp criticism from several BJP loyalists who have been left out.

Former BJP MLA Naresh Malik, who was the frontrunner from Beri and Bahadurgarh assembly seats, was denied ticket after the party fielded son of Congress turncoat OP Beri, Vikram Kadyan from Beri.

Pratibha Suman, the BJP state women president who led several agitations for party in Rohtak, was overlooked for Gohana assembly segment as Aam Aadmi Party turncoat Jai Singh Thekadar was fielded in her place.

Vir Kumar Yadav, party state spokesperson who was eyeing ticket from Kosli was denied ticket after party fielded Vikram Thekadar, who had deserted the Congress to join the saffron party. Jagdish Chopra, former BJP vice-president was seeking ticket from Sirsa seat, but party chose Congress turncoat Sunita Setia over him.

Ramesh Balhara, vice-president of the BJP Mazdoor Morcha, had even gone to the extent of staging a dharna at party state headquarters when he was denied ticket from Meham segment against INLD turncoat Shamsher Kharkara.

Raj Singh Hooda, ex-member of the BJP state executive committee, who contested on party ticket from Garhi Sampla Kiloi in 2005 against chief minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda, was overlooked this time and the ticket was given to former Congressman Dharambir Hooda. In Fatehabad, Mohlu Ram Ruhlania, party district president was denied ticket, which went to INLD turncoat Swatantar Bala Chaudhary.

In Narnaul, the party chose Congress turncoat Om Prakash Yadav over BJP old-timer Kailash Chand Sharma, who later quit the party.

A political turncoat, Harvinder Kalyan, who recently joined the saffron party after changing three parties in seven years, has been nominated from Gharaunda constituency in Karnal.

From Nilokheri, the party did not consider Amar Nath Sauda, state secretary of Scheduled Caste cell, and preferred Bhagwan Dass Kabipanthi, who had contested the 2009 election as Independent.

In Kurukshetra, the party’s choices — Subhash Sudha (Thanesar) and Jai Bhagwan Sharma from Pehowa are also being opposed by BJP workers. Sudha and Sharma were once in the INLD and then switched loyalties to the Congress before finally coming to the BJP after the parliamentary elections.

In Mullana (SC), Ambala district, claims of old party activists Arun Kumar, son of former Haryana governor Suraj Bhan, and Mange Ram Panjail were ignored as party chose Congress deserter Santosh Sarwan.

Ganeshi Lal, former state BJP president, admitted that several party leaders were denied ticket.

He, however, said the ticket distribution was done on the basis of electoral standing of a candidate.