In Mohali, SAD-BJP rules the roost | chandigarh | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 25, 2017-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

In Mohali, SAD-BJP rules the roost

chandigarh Updated: Feb 26, 2015 09:56 IST
SAS Nagar


Even as the Lok Sabha 2014 polls saw the SAD-BJP alliance losing several assembly segments in the state, with analysts speaking of anti-incumbency against the ruling establishment, the combine has managed to gain majority in three of the five councils that went to poll on Wednesday and has also won the two nagar panchayats of Lalru and Nayagaon.

The Congress could not win a single seat in six of seven local bodies, except the Banur municipal council, where it won three of 13 seats.

The party did not field its candidates in Kharar and Kurali, but it is now claiming that Independents, who won from both the places, are Congressmen.

In the two councils, where the Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD)-Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) alliance failed to get a majority, Kurali and Banur, the Independents are in a position to act as kingmakers.

Though the overall turnout figure for the polls was not available, Banur saw the maximum turnout with 86% of the electorate exercising their franchise. In spite of a drizzle, long queues were witnessed.

Zirakpur reported the least polling percentage of the seven civic bodies, where the turnout was 64.4%. Interestingly, the SAD-BJP alliance had been sitting pretty in Zirakpur even before the polls, having got 11 of its nominees elected unopposed to the 31-member council.

In Kharar and Kurali, only the SAD and the BJP contested on party symbols. The Congress did not field any candidate, and was hoping that Independents would join them after winning.

SAD-BJP leaders clash in Zirakpur
At ward number 5 in Zirakpur, a clash was witnessed between BJP and SAD leaders. It is the same ward where Dera Bassi SAD MLA NK Sharma had been supporting independent candidate, even as BJP candidate Narinder Goyal was in the fray. Independent candidate Hemant Bahugna supported by NK Sharma won by 300 votes.

Protest holds uptraffic in Kharar
Commuters on National Highway-21 (Chandigarh-Ludhiana) had a tough time after independent candidates Sohan Singh and Inderjeet Singh and BJP candidate Pawan Kumar from ward no-12 in Kharar held a protest outside the old Sunny Enclave gate on the highway.

They alleged that the administration helped independent candidate Radey Soni win. Long queues of vehicles were seen and the town came to a standstill.