Inter-school hockey tourney: Mayo Sports School wins match

  • HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times, Solan
  • Updated: Oct 02, 2014 20:06 IST

A four-day 17th inter-school hockey tournament for boys started on the premises of Pinegrove School, Dharampur, on Wednesday night.

Eight teams from various parts of India, including YPS, Patiala; YPS SAS Nagar, The Daly College, Indore; Mayo College Boys' School, Ajmer; Bishop Cotton School, Shimla; The Punjab Public School, Nabha; Motilal Nehru Sports School, Rai and host Pinegrove School are participating in this tournament.

The first match of the day held between host Pinegrove and Yadavindra Public School, SAS Nagar was draw. Mayo College Boys' School, Ajmer, outplayed The Daly College, Indore, by a huge margin of 6-0 in another match.

Shresh Kumar scored four goals bringing the opposition under pressure from the very beginning while Armaan added one goal for the Mayo boys to complete the drubbing.

In another match Moti Lal Nehru Sports School outscored YPS, SAS Nagar by 3-1. Sagar, Paras and Ashish added one goal each for the Sonipet boys while Yuvraj Singh was the lone goal scorer for Mohali boys.

Vinod Sultanpuri, state general secretary of the Himachal Congress, was the chief guest on the occasion.
He complemented the school management for organising the tournament.

also read

HT Report Card: Nothing ventured, nothing gained
Show comments