Jagdeep, Krishna enter second round

  • HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times, Chandigarh:
  • Updated: Nov 04, 2014 17:21 IST

Jagdeep Bajwa, who is enrolled under Chandigarh Lawn Tennis Association’s (CLTA) rural tennis programme ‘CHART’, defeated Shivam Vij in straight sets 6-0, 6-3, to enter round two of the under-18 boys’ singles main draw in the ongoing AITA Talent Series tennis tournament at the CLTA complex, Sector 10, on Monday.

In another match, second seed Krishna Rajput made a short work of Vikas Ahlawat to register 6-1, 6-1 win.
In the other one-sided encounters of the section, Cheerag Bajwa ousted Rohit Kumar 6-4, 6-0, while Mridul Kharkwal ended the challenge of Manjot Singh 6-3, 6-2. Calvin Golmei also enjoyed an easy outing against Sagar Sehrawat, whom he defeated 6-1, 6-2.

Meanwhile, Savneet Bajwa brought down Paras Sharma 6-0, 6-2, and Aditya Vashisht blanked Himanshu Saini 6-0, 6-0. Ramanjot Dhindsa got the better of Arnav Benerjee 6-3, 6-1. Sultan Singh Atwal and Kabir Manrai also won easy to enter the second round: Atwal beat Parmjeet Deol 6-2, 6-3, and Manrai beat Akshay Chauhan 6-1, 6-0. Sabrang Sandal also cruised into the next round with a 6-0, 6-1 win over Utsav Arora.
On the other hand, Archit Juneja, Raunaq Marwaha, Aditya Pratap Singh and Sarthak Jain had to fight hard to secure their berths in round two. While Juneja overcame second set loss to prevail over Vatsal Chauhan 6-4, 2-6, 6-3, Marwaha recovered from starting blues to outplay Sohrabh Singh 1-6, 7-5, 6-3. Aditya edged past Ritwik Rana 4-6, 6-4, 6-2, and Jain humbled Shashikant Rajput 6-3, 3-6, 6-2 in the other two three-setters.

Meanwhile, in the only girls’ section match played in the day, Priyanka Jakhar thrashed Kulsoom Khan 6-0, 6-0 to enter the second round.

Main draw results: Boys U-18 singles (first round): Cheerag Bajwa bt Rohit Kumar 6-4, 6-0; Archit Juneja bt Vatsal Chauhan 6-4, 2-6, 6-3; Raunaq Marwaha bt Sohrabh Singh 1-6, 7-5, 6-3; Mridul Kharkwal bt Manjot Singh 6-3, 6-2; Calvin Golmei bt Sagar Sehrawat 6-1, 6-2; Savneet Bajwa bt Paras Sharma 6-0, 6-2; Abhimanyu Rojra bt Anmol Rattan Kamboj; Aditya Vashisht bt Himanshu Saini 6-0, 6-0; Sarthak Jain bt Shashikant Rajput 6-3, 3-6, 6-2; Aditya Pratap Singh bt Ritwik Rana 4-6, 6-4, 6-2; Ramanjot Dhindsa bt Arnav Benerjee 6-3, 6-1; Sultan Singh Atwal bt Parmjeet Deol 6-2, 6-3; Jagdeep Bajwa bt Shivam Vij 6-0, 6-3; Kabir Manrai bt Akshay Chauhan 6-1, 6-0; Sabrang Sandal bt Utsav Arora 6-0, 6-1; Krishna Rajput bt Vikas Ahlawat 6-1, 6-1.

Girls U-18 singles (first round): Priyanka Jakhar bt Kulsoom Kham 6-0 ,6-0

also read

Councillor’s report card: Made little change on the ground
Show comments