Jeev in fray for Asian Tour award

  • Agencies Agencies, Jakarta
  • |
  • Updated: Apr 11, 2014 12:24 IST

The Asian Team heroes of the EurAsia Cup, including Anirban Lahiri of India, will attend the Asian Tour Awards in Jakarta on April 22, while compatriot Jeev Milkha Singh is in the running for the Asian Tour's Player of the Decade award.

The Asian Tour Awards will honour the achievers of 2013 season and will also include a time of recognition for members of Team Asia shared inaugural EurAsia Cup trophy with Team Europe.

Team Asia's captain Thongchai Jaidee, vice-captain Boonchu Ruangkit and other members, such as Kiradech Aphibarnrat, Anirban Lahiri, Prayad Marksaeng, Siddikur Rahman and Nicholas Fung will attend the function.

Thongchai, who rallied his team from a 0-5 deficit to force a 10-10 tie with Europe, has also been nominated for the Asian Tour's Player of the Decade award created to commemorate the Tour's milestone 10th season in 2013.

Former Order of Merit champions Jeev Milkha Singh of India and Thailand's Thaworn Wiratchant along with Korea's KJ Choi and YE Yang, the first male Asian golfer to win a major title, are the other nominees in the category where the Tour's members will vote for the winner.


also read

Gippy Grewal feels “competition is just in ­people’s mind”

blog comments powered by Disqus