Kataria’s margin beats all previous records

  • Bhartesh Singh Thakur, Hindustan Times, Panchkula
  • |
  • Updated: May 17, 2014 13:32 IST

BJP’s Rattan Lal Kataria has won by the highest ever margin of 3.40 lakh in the history of Ambala Lok Sabha (reserved) seat since 1951.

Kataria got 6.12 lakh votes ( 50.20 %) while his nearest rival Congress’s Raj Kumar Valmiki got 2.72 lakh votes (22.3%).The Indian National Lok Dal’s candidate Kusum Sherwal came third with 1.29 lakh votes (10.6 %).

In 2004, a winning candidate won by such a huge margin when Selja defeated Kataria by 2.34 lakh votes. “In 2004, Selja had defeated me with a huge margin. But I knew she would not be able to perform this time,”said Kataria.

The district BJP unit at Panchkula had got 25,000 ladoos prepared for Kataria’s victory.

The BJP candidate had won all nine assembly segments in Ambala, Yamunanagar and Panchkula districts and remained much ahead of his rivals. Kataria got 82,355, the highest number of votes from Yamunanagar assembly segment, followed by Jagadhri (76,674) and Ambala city (74,416).

While from Panchkula segment, Kataria got 71, 750 votes.

NOTA highest in Ambala seat

None Of The Above (NOTA) option, introduced for the first time in the 16th Lok Sabha elections, has been opted for in maximum numbers (7,816) on EVMs in the Ambala Lok Sabha seat in Haryana.
In Rohtak, 4,932 people voted for NOTA. At Ambala seat, in Panchkula assembly segment, maximum 1,191 people voted for NOTA.

Past track
Year    Winning Candidate                  Party    Margin
2014    Rattan Lal Kataria                   BJP    3.40 lakh
2009    Kumari Selja                           INC   14,564
2004    Kumari Selja                           INC    2.34 lakh
1999    Rattan Lal Kataria                   BJP     1.24 lakh
1998    Aman Kumar Nagra                BSP     2,864
1996    Suraj Bhan                              BJP      87,507
1991    Ram Prakash                          INC      71,942
1989    Ram Prakash                          INC      22,649
1984    Ram Prakash                          INC      1.77 lakh
1980    Suraj Bhan                              JNP      2,295
1977    Suraj Bhan                              BLD     1.65 lakh
1971    Ram Prakash                           INC     1.22 lakh
1967    Suraj Bhan                               BJS     8,700
1962    Chunni Lal                               INC     35,834
1957    Subhdra Joshi                          INC     47,935
1951    Tek Chand                              INC      44,383


also read

PGI may ban doctor from research for committing fraud

blog comments powered by Disqus