Kataria’s margin beats all previous records | chandigarh | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 26, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Kataria’s margin beats all previous records

chandigarh Updated: May 17, 2014 13:32 IST
Bhartesh Singh Thakur

BJP’s Rattan Lal Kataria has won by the highest ever margin of 3.40 lakh in the history of Ambala Lok Sabha (reserved) seat since 1951.

Kataria got 6.12 lakh votes ( 50.20 %) while his nearest rival Congress’s Raj Kumar Valmiki got 2.72 lakh votes (22.3%).The Indian National Lok Dal’s candidate Kusum Sherwal came third with 1.29 lakh votes (10.6 %).

In 2004, a winning candidate won by such a huge margin when Selja defeated Kataria by 2.34 lakh votes. “In 2004, Selja had defeated me with a huge margin. But I knew she would not be able to perform this time,”said Kataria.

The district BJP unit at Panchkula had got 25,000 ladoos prepared for Kataria’s victory.

The BJP candidate had won all nine assembly segments in Ambala, Yamunanagar and Panchkula districts and remained much ahead of his rivals. Kataria got 82,355, the highest number of votes from Yamunanagar assembly segment, followed by Jagadhri (76,674) and Ambala city (74,416).

While from Panchkula segment, Kataria got 71, 750 votes.

NOTA highest in Ambala seat

None Of The Above (NOTA) option, introduced for the first time in the 16th Lok Sabha elections, has been opted for in maximum numbers (7,816) on EVMs in the Ambala Lok Sabha seat in Haryana.
In Rohtak, 4,932 people voted for NOTA. At Ambala seat, in Panchkula assembly segment, maximum 1,191 people voted for NOTA.

Past track
Year Winning Candidate Party Margin
2014 Rattan Lal Kataria BJP 3.40 lakh
2009 Kumari Selja INC 14,564
2004 Kumari Selja INC 2.34 lakh
1999 Rattan Lal Kataria BJP 1.24 lakh
1998 Aman Kumar Nagra BSP 2,864
1996 Suraj Bhan BJP 87,507
1991 Ram Prakash INC 71,942
1989 Ram Prakash INC 22,649
1984 Ram Prakash INC 1.77 lakh
1980 Suraj Bhan JNP 2,295
1977 Suraj Bhan BLD 1.65 lakh
1971 Ram Prakash INC 1.22 lakh
1967 Suraj Bhan BJS 8,700
1962 Chunni Lal INC 35,834
1957 Subhdra Joshi INC 47,935
1951 Tek Chand INC 44,383