Kataria wins in Ambala | chandigarh | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 24, 2017-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Kataria wins in Ambala

chandigarh Updated: May 17, 2014 13:43 IST
Dev Sarup Mathur
Dev Sarup Mathur
Hindustan Times

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidate Rattan Lal Kataria was elected as member of parliament (MP) from the Ambala parliamentary constituency defeating nearest rival Raj Kumar Balmiki of Congress by 3.40 lakh votes in the Lok Sabha polls, results of which were declared here on Friday.

District electoral officer (DEO) Saket Kumar said Kataria polled 6, 12,121 votes, Balmiki got 2, 72,047 votes, Kusum Sherwal from Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) polled 1,29,5 71, Kapoor Singh from Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) scored 102,627, while Surinder Pal Singh from Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) could manage only 63,626 votes.

Counting of votes for Ambala Cantonment and Mullana constituencies was held at SD College, and for Ambala city at BPS Planetarium. Votes for the Naraingarh seat were counted at DAV Senior Secondary School, Jagadhri road, Ambala Cantt.

Kumar said counting for the Panchkula Lok Sabha seat was held at Community Center, Bell Colony, Sector 14, Panchkula, and that of Kalka was held at Government Women’s College, Sector 14.

Counting for Sadhura was held at Saraswati Vidhya Mandir School, Jagadhri, and for Jagadhri and Yamuna Nagar at Maharaja Agrasen College, Jagadhri.

The DEO informed that out of the 16.85 lakh eligible voters in the constituency spread in nine assembly segments in the districts of Ambala, Panchkula and Yamuna Nagar, 12,192, 54 voters had exercised their right to vote making the voting percentage to over 72 %.

Elaborate security arrangements were made around the counting centres across the district.
As early signs of victory started coming, jubilant BJP workers danced to the beats of dhols and distributed ladoos.

A big victory procession was later taken out from the BJP office in Ambala Sadar to Ambala City in which Kataria, member of legislative assembly (MLA) Anil Vij, former MLAs Jasbir Mallur, Veena Chibber, Fakir Chand Aggarwal and hundreds of workers participated.

Thanking the voters for the massive victory, Vij said Congress misrule had ended and a new era had dawned.

Kataria said he was overwhelmed with the massive support and would strive hard for the development of the constituency which had remained neglected during the past ten years.