List of nominated fellows finalised | chandigarh | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 24, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

List of nominated fellows finalised

chandigarh Updated: Oct 27, 2012 00:07 IST
HT Correspondent

The list of nominated fellows on Panjab University's new senate was finalised on Friday by the office of varsity chancellor and vice-president Hamid Ansari in New Delhi. The list has since been dispatched to varsity registrar's office, sources said.

Source said that the cleared names included Punam Suri, president of DAV college managing committee, Chandigarh Youth Congress president HS Lucky, PU faculty members Prof Emannual Nahar, Shelly Walia and SK Sharma.

Also on the list are Aruna Goel, Madhu Raka, Ludhiana's Congress MP Manish Tiwari, local Congress MP and union minister Pawan Kumar Bansal, Chandigarh BJP leader Satya Pal Jain and VK Sibal, brother of union minister Kapil Sibal. Dean university instructions Prof RK Kohli has also made it to the list.

During the last senate election, Prof Nahar had lost to Prof Rajesh Gill from arts faculty. Both Gill and Nahar were in the fray for the first time.

It is pertinent to mention here that the chancellor's office had for the first time written to the VC office as well as local MP and union minister Pawan Kumar Bansal to forward the names of those they wished to be nominated on the senate. This move had not gone down well with many associated with academic field. While most names forwarded by Bansal have been cleared, not many recommended by varsity vice chancellor Prof Arun Kumar Grover have made the grade.

Of the total 91senate members, 49 are elected from various constituencies like graduate, faculty, college principals etc. As many as six are ex-officio members whereas 39 are nominated by the office of vice-president of India, who is the chancellor of Panjab University.

Commenting on the names of nominated fellows finalised by the chancellor's office for the new senate, many senators felt that those affiliated to the Congress had been favoured.

Some of the nominated senators
Punam Suri
HS Lucky
Prof Emannual Nahar
Shelly Walia
SK Sharma
Aruna Goel
Madhu Raka
Manish Tiwari
Pawan Kumar Bansal
Satya Pal Jain
VK Sibal
Prof RK Kohli