Live: 39.6% polling in Baramullah, Leh-Ladakh witnesses 65% voter turnout

  • HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times, Chandigarh
  • Updated: May 07, 2014 21:02 IST

Final voters turnout in Baramullah and Ladakh constituencies:

Leh-Ladakh constituency 65%

Baramulla constituency: 39.6%
Sopore 1.02
Kupwara 63.19
Baramullah: 25.04
Bandipura is 35

Afzal Guru 's Sopore witnessed lowest turnover at 0.91%

Kargil leads polling at 57%, followed by Leh at 49%

District wise voter turnout

Baramulla 21.82%
Kupwara 53.57%
Bandipora 27.30%
Leh 49.30%
Kargil 57%

Nearly 27 per cent of 13.48 lakh electorate exercised their franchise up to 1pm in the two parliamentary constituencies of Baramulla and Ladakh

In Ladakh parliamentary seat, Kargil leading with 49%, Leh 35% by 1 pm

The senior opposition People's Democratic Party leader and their candidate for the Baramulla Lok Sabha seat Muzaffar Hussain Beig casts his vote at Wahidna Chandoosa of the Kupwara district.

Clashes erupt in Afzal Guru's hometown in Sopore

In Ladakh parliamentary seat, Kargil leading with 26%, Leh 14% by 11am

District wise voter turnout till 11am

Baramulla 9.90%
Kupwara 20%
Bandipora 14.8%
Leh 14.10%
Kargil 26.00

District wise voter turnout till 9am

Baramulla 3.63 %
Kupwara 5 %
Bandipora 2.3 %
Leh 6.1 %
Kargil 5%

Brisk polling in Leh, Kargil

Polling in the Ladakh Parliamentary constituency has started with several areas reporting brisk voting during the first hour itself. Large queues have been seen outside many polling stations with enthusiastic voters including first time voters besides female voters upbeat about exercising their right to vote.

The anti-sabotage team of Jammu & Kashmir police claimed to have detected some crude explosives device in the vicinity of Palhalan polling station on Tuesday morning. The police said the explosives were defused on time. The locals, however, claim that it was a grenade attack.

Some areas in Kupwara, Handwara and Sumbal Sonawari witnessing large queues. On the other hand many polling stations in Separatist bastions like Palhalan, Sopore town and Baramulla town have seen zero voting. The areas are wearing deserted looks with people preferring to stay indoors.

Trigaam, Shadipora in Sumbal are witnessing brisk polling in all six polling station, with more than 6000 votes. Huge rush seen. People coming in huge numbers. Young people voting for change, while the area remains a strong support base of National Conference.

Over 100 people cast their votes already in the first half an hour.

Heavy voting along LOC from Gurez to Uri sector.

Polling begins in Baramulla and Ladakh constituencies at 7 a.m.

30,000 security men deployed for LS polls in Baramulla

More than 30,000 security men have been deployed to ensure free and peaceful voting Wednesday in 1,616 polling stations in Baramulla Lok Sabha constituency of Jammu and Kashmir.

Police and intelligence agencies have termed the May 7 voting for this Lok Sabha seat as their most serious challenge, given security logistics in the 15 assembly segments in Baramulla, Kupwara and Bandipora districts.

Of the total polling stations, 1,091 have been declared hyper-sensitive and 455 sensitive. Only 70 have been declared normal by the Election Commission.

Director General of Police Ashok Prasad said the security forces face three serious challenges - separatist boycott calls, threats from militants and the possibility of stone pelting by anti-national elements to dissuade voters from exercising their democratic right.

Election officials have started reaching the polling stations escorted by paramilitary forces and police.

A low intensity explosion, which police said was caused by a petrol bomb, occurred Tuesday morning in a middle school building in Watergam in Baramulla district.

Although no damage was caused to the school building, the fact that it occurred at a place where a polling station is being set up for Wednesday's voting became a cause for concern.

Around 11.89 lakh voters would be deciding the fate of 15 candidates Wednesday.

The main contest is between National Conference candidate Sharief-ud-Din Shariq, who is seeking re-election, and Muzaffar Hussain Baig of the Peoples Democratic Party.

Voting starts at 7 a.m. and will end at 5 p.m.

Meanwhile, the cold desert region of Ladakh in Jammu and Kashmir - which has remained unaffected by the over-two decade-long separatist violence in the state - is expecting a large voter turnout during Wednesday's polling for its Lok Sabha seat.

As many as 159,631 voters are eligible to exercise their franchise at 531 polling stations.

The turnout in 2009 was 71.84 percent, officials said.

A total of 252 polling personnel are being deployed in six hyper-sensitive, eight sensitive and 49 normal polling stations in Nubra assembly segment, while 844 polling staff have been deployed in 16 hyper-sensitive, 53 sensitive and 142 normal polling stations in Leh.

Four candidates - Thupstan Chhewang of the Bharatiya Janata Party, Tsering Samphel of the Congress and two independents, Ghulam Raza and Syed Mohammad Kazim - are in the fray.

Leh district has 39,812 male and 39,230 female voters, while Kargil has 41,182 male and 39,407 female voters.

In order to ensure maximum turnout, photo voter slips have been distributed at people's doorsteps in Ladakh.

Ladakh constitutes 70 percent of the total geographical area of the state, but has the lowest population density of around three per square km in the country.

also read

In Ladakh
Show comments