Live: BJP Hamirpur candidate Anurag Thakur wins by 98403 votes | chandigarh | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 28, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Live: BJP Hamirpur candidate Anurag Thakur wins by 98403 votes

chandigarh Updated: May 16, 2014 19:35 IST
HT Correspondents
38 candidates

BJP Hamirpur candidate Anurag Thakur wins by 98403 votes.

Shanta Kumar wins Kangra Lok Sabha seat by the margin of 1,70,072. BJP's Ram Swaroop Sharma defeated Pratibha singh by margin of 39796 votes in Mandi.

Upbeat with the trends in the Himachal pradesh, former chief minister Prem Kumar Dhumal seeks Chief minister Virbhadra Singh's resignation.

At 1.09pm

Shanta Kumar leading by 169321 in Kangra
Ramswaroop Sharma leading by 31141 in Mandi
Anurag Thakur leading by 91110 in BJP
Virender Kashyap leading by 80141 in Shimla

12.19 pm: Shanta Kumar leads in Kangra with 158059; Anurag Thakur in Hamirpur with 84628; Virender Kashyap from Shimla with 78021 and Ram Swaroop leading ahead of Pratibha Singh in Mandi by 28735 votes.

Counting completed in tribal district Kinnaur Pratibha Singh scored 18844, BJP's Ramswaroop Sharma scored 16309, Congress lead 2635 votes in Kinnaur.

Shanta Kumar (BJP) is leading by 132369 votes from Kangra.

In Mandi, BJP's Ram Swaroop Sharma is leading while CM's wife Pratibha Singh is trailing by 25340 votes.

In Hamirpur, BJP's Anurag Singh Thakur is leading by 73621 votes.

In Shimla, BJP's Virender Kashyap is leading by 73225 votes.

11am: BJP's Kangra candidate Shanta Kumar is leading by 1,03,804 votes

Result at10am

BJP's Virender Kashyap leading by 47,446 votes from Shimla

Anurag Singh Thakur leading by 40,792 votes from Hamirpur

Congress' Pratibha Singh trailing behind BJP's Ram Swaroop sharma leading by 21,003 votes from Mandi

BJP's Shanta Kumar is leading by 71,841 votes from Kangra

Pratibha Singh trailing by 10,236 votes from Mandi

BJP's Shimla candidate Virender Kashyap is leading by 14,254 votes

BJP's Kangra candidate Shanta Kumar is Leading by 25,592 votes

BJP's Hamiprur Anurag Singh Thakur is Leading by 15,299 votes

In Shimla BJP candidate Virender Kashyap leading by 1044 votes

In Hamirpur Anurag Thakur leading by 2320 votes

Congress's Pratibha Singh trailing by 2810 votes in Mandi

In Kangra BJP's Shanta Kumar leading by 3889 votes

In Mandi Pratibha Singh trails by 700 votes, Chander Kumar trails by 2500 votes in Kangra

Anurag thakur leading by 906 votes in Hamirpur

Counting begins from 8 a.m.

Elaborate security arrangements in place for counting in HP

The fate of 38 candidates contesting from Himachal Pradesh's four Lok Sabha seats and four nominees in the fray for Sujanpur Assembly bypoll will be declared on Friday after counting of votes, for which all necessary arrangements have been put in place.

Elaborate security arrangements have been made at the 16 counting centres - one each in all 12 district headquarters and four additional centres at Rampur, Palampur, Nurpur and Paonta Sahib. Sixty-six halls have been set up to take up the counting of 66 out of 68 Assembly segments simultaneously.

Entry of people within 100 mts of counting centres has been barred and no other person except polling officials, candidates and their authorised counting agents would be allowed inside the counting centres.

Three-tier security with central paramilitary forces in the innermost circle, state armed forces in the middle circle and district police in the outer circle have been deployed to avoid any trouble.

Former Chief Minister Shanta Kumar, former Chief Minister P K Dhumal's son and sitting BJP MP from Hamirpur seat Anurag Thakur, Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh's wife and sitting MP from Mandi seat Pratibha Singh, rebel BJP MP from Kangra and AAP candidate Rajan Sushant and BJP MP from Shimla Virender Kashyap are among prominent contestants.

There are 12 candidates in Kangra, 10 in Hamirpur, nine in Mandi and seven in Shimla (reserve) constituency. The state's overall polling percentage was?65.18.

Hamirpur recorded highest turnout of 67.88 per cent, followed by Kangra 64.62 per cent, Shimla 64.45 per cent, and Mandi 63.60 per cent.

Results of Hamirpur, Kangra and Mandi constituencies are expected by afternoon, while the result of Shimla (reserve) seat would be the last to be declared, officials said.