Approx 66 % voting in Himachal Pradesh

Approx 65.06 % polling in Himachal Pradesh

62.25 % voter turnout in Himachal till 5 pm

54.80 % polling in HP till 3 pm

45.54 % polling in Himachal till 1pm

District wise break up till 1pm

Chamba            44.81%

Kangra              43.66%

Lahul and spiti   40. 64%

Kullu                43. 76%

Mandi             44.16%

Hamirpur          50.12%

Una                 52.73%

Bilaspur          45.79%

Solan             47.11%

Sirmaur           49.26%

Shimla            41.97%

Kinnaur           50.43%

Former chief minister Prem Kumar Dhumal after casting his vote in Himachal

Shanta Kumar showing his inked finger at polling booth.

AAP candidate from Hamirpur Kamal Kanta Batra going to cast vote at Palampur

32% in polling in Himachal till 11 am

District wise break up till 11am

Chamba    29.07%

Kangra   30. 23%

Lahaul and Spiti  26.30%

Kullu   30.01%
Mandi             31. 52%

Hamirpur   34.85%

Una     36. 53%

Bilaspur   31.49%

Solan             32. 94%

Sirmaur           33%
Shimla            29.69%

Kinnaur           35. 51%

16.15 % polling in Himachal till 10am

District wise break up till 10 am

Shimla   15.15%

Kinnaur   16.84%

Chamba   15.69%

Lahaul and spiti  12.09%

Kullu   16%

Hamirpur   17.34%

Mandi   17.04%

Una    17.51%

Bilaspur   16.34%

Solan        16.52%

Sirmaur   17.19%

Kangra   15.90%

Himachal minister Vidya Stokes showing her inked finger after casting her vote

Independent India's first voter Shyam Saran Negi casts his vote at Kalpa in Kinnaur district (Mandi Parliamentary seat). Election Commission honours him.

15 % voting in Mandi till 8.30 am.

20% voting in Hamirpur till 9am.

15 % voting in Shimla till 8.30 am.

EVMs replaced at Jubbal in Shimla district and in some polling booths in Mandi District.

Virbhadra Singh posts this picture after casting vote at Rampur Bushahr in Himachal.

Polling begins in four Lok Sabha contituencies at 7 a.m.

All arrangements in place for voting in HP

The stage is set for eighth phase elections to four Lok Sabha seats in Himachal Pradesh which will decide the fate of 38 candidates, including former Chief Minister Shanta Kumar and BJP's Anurag Thakur on Tuesday.

Elaborate security arrangements have been made for tomorrow's polling and over 10,000 police personnel and 7400 home guards will be deployed across the state to ensure free, fair and peaceful voting.

Polling parties have reached booths along with election material, state Chief Electoral Officer Narinder Chauhan said.

Inter-state borders have been sealed to check entry of anti-social elements, officials said.

The one-month-long no-holds-barred electioneering, which drew to close last evening, witnessed Congress and BJP leaders trading charges and hurling personal allegations.

Nearly 48,10,071 voters (24, 77,430 male and 23, 35,641 female), including 84,461 first-timers, are likely to exercise their franchise.

Today's voting will seal the fate of 38 candidates, including all four sitting Lok Sabha members and Shanta Kumar, in Electronic Voting Machines.

The Congress, BJP, Aam Admi Party and BSP have fielded candidates in all the four seats while the CPI-M is contesting only two seats.

Twelve candidates are in the fray in Kangra Lok Sabha constituency, 10 in Hamirpur, nine in Mandi and seven in Shimla (Reserve) constituencies.

Voting for Sujanpur assembly bypoll will also be held today.


also read

Himachal polls a test for Congress

blog comments powered by Disqus