LS polls: 22 candidates file nominations from Haryana | chandigarh | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 24, 2017-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

LS polls: 22 candidates file nominations from Haryana

chandigarh Updated: Mar 19, 2014 20:39 IST

Twenty two candidates, including Congress' Arvind Sharma and Jagbir Malik and BJP's Rattan Lal Kataria on Wednesday filed nominations for the April 10 elections to the Lok Sabha from the state's 10 constituencies.

With this, a total of 29 candidates have so far filed their nomination papers, Haryana's Chief Electoral Officer, Shrikant Walgad said here.

Five nominations each have been filed from Hisar and Kurukshetra followed by four each from Sonipat and Karnal, three from Gurgaon and two each from Ambala, Faridabad, Rohtak and Sirsa.

No candidate has filed nomination paper from Bhiwani-Mahendegarh Parliamentary constituency.

Walgad said among those who have filed nominations today are former BJP MP Ratan Lal Kataria from Ambala, Congress' sitting MP Arvind Kumar Sharma and Lok Parivatan Party candidate Duli Chand from Karnal, and BSP's Chhatar Singh from Kurukshetra.

60 companies of central forces for polls in Haryana: EC

He also said INLD candidate Shamsher Singh filed nomination from Rohtak while CPI (M)'s Ram Kumar entered the fray from Sirsa and Congress' Jagbir Malik from Sonipat.

He said that the filing of nomination papers in Haryana started on March 15 and would continue up to March 22.

The scrutiny of nomination papers would take place on March 23 and withdrawal of nominations was allowed till March 26, by when the final picture of contestants would be known.

About 1.55 crore voters, including 71 lakh women, are eligible to cast ballot at 16,129 polling stations, including 11,644 in rural areas, from 7 am to 6 pm on April 10.

Of the 10 Lok Sabha seats in Haryana, at present Congress has nine MPs while Haryana Janhit Congress has one MP from Hisar.