LS polls: Parties banking on MLAs in Hry, Punjab | chandigarh | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 30, 2017-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

LS polls: Parties banking on MLAs in Hry, Punjab

chandigarh Updated: Mar 25, 2014 17:41 IST

To boost their poll prospects in the upcoming Lok Sabha polls, political parties in Haryana and Punjab are banking on their MLAs, as many legislators have entered the fray.

In Haryana, Congress has fielded its Nalwa MLA and former finance minister Sampat Singh from Hisar Lok Sabha seat against Haryana Janhit Congress chief and MP Kuldeep Bishnoi.

With Congress' sitting MP from Sonepat, Jitender Malik having withdrawn from the race, Congress fielded his younger brother Jagbir Malik for the seat.

Jagbir Malik is Congress MLA from Gohana and will be contesting Lok Sabha polls for the first time.

Rao Dharam Pal Singh Yadav is the Congress' sitting MLA from Badshahpur. He has entered the fray from Gurgaon to take on turncoat and former union minister Rao Inderjit Singh, who recently quit the Congress and joined the BJP.

To boost its prospects from Sirsa, Haryana's main opposition Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) has announced the candidature of Charanjit Singh, who recently quit as Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) MLA in the state assembly to join the INLD.

SAD is an ally of former chief minister Om Prakash Chautala-led INLD, in Haryana.

In neighbouring Punjab too, the parties are banking on their MLAs for many seats.

The Congress has fielded its former chief minister Amarinder Singh from the Amritsar Lok Sabha constituency to take on BJP's Arun Jaitley. Amarinder Singh at present is sitting MLA from Patiala.

Leader of opposition in the Punjab assembly, Sunil Jakhar, Congress' Abhohar MLA, has been fielded from the Ferozepur Lok Sabha seat while Sadhu Singh Dharamsot, Nabha MLA, will enter the fray from Fatehgarh Sahib.

Joginder Singh Panjgrain, the Jaito MLA, is the Congress candidate from Faridkot.

On the other hand, ruling Shiromani Akali Dal has fielded Manpreet Singh Ayali, Dakha MLA, from Ludhiana parliamentary constituency and Adampur MLA Pawan Kumar Tinu from Jalandhar.