Maintaining golf course will be our top priority, says Golf club president Birinder Singh Gill | chandigarh | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 26, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Maintaining golf course will be our top priority, says Golf club president Birinder Singh Gill

chandigarh Updated: Apr 21, 2015 11:57 IST


With the Chandigarh Golf Club election results going in his favour Birinder Singh Gill (Gilly) reiterated his commitment to carry on the good work of the previous year and focus on better maintenance of the golf course.

“The golf club is there because of the course. So for us it will be all about maintaining it to the highest standards and improving on the certain areas in which we are lagging. Besides this we also have to resolve the lease issue of the club,” elated Gill said, who won the election by a margin of 222 votes. Gill polled 654 votes, against Ravinder Singh Virk’s 432.

Gill, who has been a member of the club since 1988, said that the club will also focus on water harvesting programme and also on healthier environmental practices. This will be the fourth term for the 55-yearold advocate, who has earlier remained president of the club in 2009-10, 2010-11 and 2013-14.

The results for the 11-member management committee were also announced in which Gilly group dominated claiming seven seats, while Virk group got four members elected.

Of the outgoing management committee, IPS Mann, Balbir Singh Mangat, DR GS Kochhar, Jaspal Singh Sidhu and Dr BR Jain once again won their seats.

IPS Mann of Gilly group won the management committee seat with highest number of votes (663), while Dr BR Jain with 418 votes polled the least.

Other members of the management committee who won are—Madhu Brar (605 votes), Kanwarvir Singh Sibia (601), Balbir Singh Mangat (553), Dr GS Kochhar (531), Col HS Baidwan (Retd) (521), Lt Col HS Chahal (498) and Jaspal Singh Sidhu (487).

The last two members Hassan Singh Mejie and Dr Jaspreet Singh Batth were tied at 469 votes each.CS Grewal (Sandy) lost the management committee seat by one vote. He polled 417 votes.

Apart from IPS Mann, the other members of the Gilly group are—Kanwarvir Singh Sibia, Balbir Singh Mangat, Dr GS Kochhar, Col HS Baidwan, Jaspal Singh Sidhu, and Dr BR Jain, while Madhu Brar, Lt Col HS Chahal, Hassan Singh Mejie and Dr Jaspreet Singh belong to Virk camp.