MC divides city into four zones to curb encroachments | chandigarh | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 25, 2017-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

MC divides city into four zones to curb encroachments

chandigarh Updated: Aug 14, 2014 18:46 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times

Swinging into action to curb the encroachment menace in the city, the municipal corporation (MC) has divided the city into four zones and shifted officers from other departments of the civic body.

First zone comprises Manimajra area; second zone has Sectors 33 to 43, Industrial Areas, Phase 1 and 2; third has villages, including Attawa, Badheri, Maloya, Palsora, Buterla, Kajheri and colonies; while the fourth zone consists of Sectors 1 to 32 and Sectors 44 to 61.

Each zone is led by senior sub-inspectors having a staff of five sub-inspectors.

MC joint commissioner Sarita Malik said directions had been given to inspectors of various zones to ensure that no encroachment was reported in their zones and strict action be taken against violators. Encroachment drives would be conducted regularly, she added.

Meanwhile, Malik made a surprise visit to Sector 22 and found no violations in the market.

In the past the regular - essentially ritualistic - anti-encroachment drives by the civic authorities have singularly failed to curb the menace.