Mohali, Amritsar register outright wins

  • HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times, Chandigarh
  • Updated: Jun 25, 2014 12:39 IST

Mohali and Amritsar secured outright wins, and subsequently pocketed six points each, from their respective matches of the under19 Dhruv Pandove Trophy, played at different venues, on Tuesday.

In the first match, Mohali thrashed hosts Patiala by 185 runs to register an emphatic triumph. During the first three days of the contest, Mohali batted first and made 365 runs in their first innings. Chasing, Patiala collapsed on 233 to concede a first innings lead of 132 runs.

On the fourth and last day of the match, Mohali resumed their second innings at the overnight score of 194 for 4, but could only add 54 runs to their scoreboard before getting all out in 75.1 overs.

With 66 runs, Abhijit Garg was the top scorer for the side, while Ramandeep Singh chipped in with 55 runs.

Other contributors for the team were Shubhman Gill (29), Harsroop Singh (23) and Pranjay Sharya (18).

For Patiala, Mayank Markande bowled well for his four wickets, giving away 49 runs. Sanveer Singh chipped in with two wickets for 36 runs.

Chasing a formidable target of 380 runs for victory, Patiala could only make 195 before losing their last wicket in 57.3 overs.

Though Sanveer Singh (67) and Sagar Kumar (50) tried putting up stiff resistance against Mohali bowlers, their efforts were not sufficient to see the team through.

Apart from the duo, Mandeep Inder Bawa (21) and Jashanpreet Singh (21) chipped in for the home side.

For Mohali, Har manvir Singh bowled brilliantly to pick up a six-wicket haul for 63 runs. He was ably supported by Jasinder Singh, who ensnared the other four batsmen, giving away 105 runs.


In the second match, Amritsar beat Jalandhar by 171 runs.

During the first three days of the match, Amritsar batted first to make 297 runs in their first innings.

In reply, Jalandhar got all out for 265, thus handing the opposition a slender but important lead of 32 runs.

On the fourth and final day of the encounter, Amritsar were bowled out for 231 runs after they resumed at overnight 169 for 7.

While Navneet Singh was the leading scorer for the side with 73 runs, Abhinav Shar ma added 32 runs to the team’s scorecard. Rahul Kashyap and Marshal Bhagat chipped in with 17 and 16 runs, respectively.

For Jalandhar, Rohit Chohan and Mohit Maria claimed the bowling honours by picking up three wickets each for 85 and 62 runs, respectively.

Chasing a target of 263 runs, Jalandhar could only make 92 before getting all out in the 40th over of their innings. Arjun Verma (23) and Mansab Gill (26) were the main run-getters for the losing side.

For winners Amritsar, Abhishek Sharma was the pick of the bowlers as he claimed five wickets for 22 runs; Rohit Kumar claimed three wickets for 19 runs.

also read

Councillor’s report card: Work can wait for controversy’s child Satish Kainth
Show comments