More MC committees get heads | chandigarh | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 23, 2017-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

More MC committees get heads

chandigarh Updated: Jun 21, 2013 01:05 IST
HT Correspondent

Councillors on Thursday filed nominations for chairpersonships of the Chandigarh municipal corporation's (MC) sub-committees. There will be no elections, as the number of nominations filed is in fact less than the number of posts. There are 12 committees in all, but no papers were filed for the women empowerment committee.

From the BJP, councillor Rajesh Kumar Gupta filed his nomination for electricity committee, Devesh Moudgil for enforcement committee and Des Raj Gupta for the Apni Mandi panel. Congress councillors Harphool Chander Kalyan (sanitation committee), Sheela Phool Singh (slum, colonies and village development) and Gurbax Rawat (art, culture, sports committee; environment committee) also filed their papers.

On April 11, the civic body had already announced chairpersons of three committees -- Congressman Sat Parkash Aggarwal for road committee, Shagufta Parveen for water supply and sewerage disposal, and nominated councillor Babu Lal for the house tax committee.

Call it lack of awareness, or just indifference, the MC has not formed panels to deal with dispensaries or primary schools, even after nearly two years since the formation of the new House.

As per section 42 of the MC Act, constitution of committees is an obligatory function. These committees have been delegated financial and other powers to carry on the work. In cases involving financial implication beyond a certain limit and policy decisions, the matter is finally referred to the general body.