Naman shines for Zone A in Under-16 cricket tournament | chandigarh | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 27, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Naman shines for Zone A in Under-16 cricket tournament

chandigarh Updated: Apr 23, 2015 12:38 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Naman Dhir


Naman Dhir scored a brilliant century to help Minor District Zone A gain a crucial first innings lead of 63 runs against Mohali on the second day of the Punjab state under16 cricket tournament for ML Markan trophy at the Sector 16 cricket stadium on Wednesday.

Chasing Mohali’s first innings score of 212, Zone A finished the day on 275 for the loss of four wickets in 109 overs. After an opening partnership between Naman and Parmjeet realised 100 runs, the centurion added crucial 63 runs with Ankit Negi for the second wicket.

Naman was out for 116 off 252 balls studded with 13 hits to the fence. At stumps, Ankit Negi was batting on unbeaten 67 along with Inderpreet Singh unbeaten on 13. Jashandeep Singh was the pick of the bowlers for Mohali. He took two wickets for 89 runs.

Amritsar were 280 for the loss of five wickets in 96 overs at stumps in chase of Chandigarh’s first innings score of 363 at Guru Nanak Public School, Sector 36.

Earlier, Chandigarh resuming from overnight score of 333 for 5 were bowled out for 363 in 111.3 overs. Sumit Sharma returned impressive bowling figure of six wickets for 79 runs for Amritsar.

Amritsar’s reply was also led by Sumit who made a brilliant unbeaten century scoring 129 studded with 18 boundaries. Other contributions came from Raghav Mahan (41), Khushdeep (31) and Kavish Punj (30). Jagdeep Singh (2 for 94) and Tavleen Singh (2 for 88) were the successful bowlers for Chandigarh.

In the second match played in Patiala, hosts managed to gain a first innings lead of 46 runs against Jalandhar on the second day. Chasing Jalandhar’s score of 176, Patiala were all out for 222 in their first innings. Deepak Kumar with 43 runs was the top scorer, while Fatehveer Singh made 41 runs. Abhishek Verma remained unbeaten on 37. Lovepreet Bhuller was the pick of the bowlers for Jalandhar. He took eight wickets for 79 runs. Jalandhar, in their second innings, were 67 for the loss of two wickets at close of second days play with Rishabh Saini unbeaten on 39 inclusive of six boundaries.

A brilliant batting display by the Minor District Zone B team helped the side gain a vital 38 runs first innings lead against hosts Ludhiana. On the second day chasing Ludhiana’s first inninsg score of 274, Zone B were all out for 312 in 117.3 overs. Vishesh Bansal played a fluent knock of 95 falling short of a well deserved century by five runs. He was ably supported by Madhav (41) and Jashanpreet (43). Gagandeep Singh added 30 runs for Zone B. Adityaveer Singh with four wickets for 75 runs was the pick of the bowlers for Ludhiana. Deepin Chitkara (3 for 121) and Lovish Dhir (2 for 36) were the other successful bowlers for Ludhiana.