On penultimate day, 150 candidates file nominations | chandigarh | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 21, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

On penultimate day, 150 candidates file nominations

chandigarh Updated: Apr 08, 2014 10:00 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times

On the penultimate day of filing Lok Sabha poll nominations in Punjab, 150 candidates belonging to various political parties filed their nominations on Monday, taking the total number of nominations to 236.

Tuesday being a public holiday on account of Ram Naumi, there will be no nominations and the last day of filing nominations is Wednesday.

Additional chief electoral officer (CEO) Supreet Singh Gulati said prominent among those who filed the nominations were Arun Jaitley, Harsimrat Badal, Preneet Kaur, Ambika Soni, Ranjit Singh Brahmpura, Manpreet Singh Ayali, Ravneet Singh Bittu, Mohinder Singh Kaypee, Prem Singh Chandumajra and Bhagwant Mann.

In Bathinda, 13 nomi - nations were filed, which included Harsimrat Badal from the Shiromani Akali Dal with Bikram Singh Majithia as the covering candidate, Manpreet Singh Badal from the Congress with his father Gurdas Singh Badal as the covering candidate, Bhagwant Singh CPI ( ML) and Rajinder Singh SAD (A).

In Faridkot, Joginder Singh Panjgrain of the Congress filed his papers with Krishan Kaur as his covering candidate, Prof Sadhu Singh of Aam Aadmi Par ty, and Paramjit Kaur Gulshan of the SAD with husband Nirmal Singh as the covering candidate also filed their papers. Darshan Singh filed his papers on behalf of the SAD (Amritsar).

In Gurdaspur, Sukhwinder Singh filed his nomination from the BSP, Sucha Singh from AAP, Gurmeet Singh from CPIML and Varinder Singh from the CPI.

In Sangrur, Bhagwant Mann from AAP, Madan Bhatti of BSP, Joginder Singh of CPI(M) and Mahmood Ahmed Thind of Indian Union Muslim League filed their papers.

In Khadoor Sahib, those who filed their papers were Ranjit Singh Brahmpura from SAD, Balwant Singh from BSP-Ambedkar, Balwinder Singh from CPI-ML, Simranjit Singh Mann of SAD (Amritsar).

In Fatehgarh Sahib, Kulwant Singh from the SAD with his son Manpreet Singh as his covering candidate, Sadhu Singh Dharamsot from the Congress with Gurpreet Singh Ash as the covering candidate, Dharam Singh from SAD (Amritsar), and Nirmal Singh from Nationalist Congress Party filed their papers.

In Ludhiana, Simar jeet Singh Bains filed his papers as an independent with his brother Balwinder Singh Bains as the covering candidate. Manpreet Singh Ayali of the SAD filed his nomination with Harbir Singh as the covering candidate.

Ravneet Singh Bittu of the Congress filed his papers with his cousin Gurkirat Singh as his covering candidate; Harvinder Singh Phoolka of AAP and Navjot Singh Mandair of the BSP also filed the nominations.

In Amritsar, BJP lead - er Ar un Jaitley filed his nomination papers. Yousuf Mohammed from Samajwadi Party, Kanwaljit Singh from Democratic Party of India), Buta Singh of BSPAmbedkar, Rattan Singh Randhawa of CPM Punjab, and Amarjit Singh of Bharti Communist Party filed their papers.

In Hoshiarpur, Anoop Singh, an independent candidate, Yamini Gomar of AAP, Shamsher Singh of SAD (Amritsar), Vijay Sampla of the BJP, Mohinder Singh Kaypee of the Congress and Bhagwant Singh Chauhan of the BSP filed their papers.

In Anandpur Sahib, Prem Singh Chandumajra of the SAD, Jaswant Singh Mann as independent and Ambika Soni of the Congress filed their papers.

In Ferozepur, Sher Singh Ghubaya of the SAD and Ram Kumar of the BSP filed their papers.
In Jalandhar, Subhash Goria from Shiv Sena, Santokh Chaudhary of the Congress, Sukhvinder Singh of the BSP and Tarsem Peter of the CPIML filed their papers.

In Patiala, Preneet Kaur of the Congress, with her son Raninder Singh as her covering candidate, Dr Dharmvira Gandhi of the AAP, Mohinder Pal Singh of SAD (Amritsar) and Deepinder Singh Dhillon of the SAD filed their nominations.