Perfect four for BJP in Ambala, Vij wins with handsome margin | chandigarh | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 29, 2017-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Perfect four for BJP in Ambala, Vij wins with handsome margin

chandigarh Updated: Oct 19, 2014 21:38 IST
Dev Sarup Mathur

Bhartiya Janta Party (BJP) candidates registered comfortable victories in all four assembly segments of Ambala Cantt, City, Naraingarh and Mullana. The victory is being attributed to a vote for Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s policies. In the previous assembly, the Congress had two seats, with one seat each with the BJP and the INLD.

At the Cantt seat, BJP’s Anil Vij defeated four-time MLA and former minister Nirmal Singh of the Congress by 15,462 votes and polled 66,605 votes. Nirmal polled 51,143 votes with Suraj Jindal of the INLD polling only 5,407 votes. Vij has now won five of the seven elections that he has contested so far.

Soon after the results, thousands of jubilant Vij supporters gathered in Ambala Sadar and took him through a victory procession through the main bazaars with tremendous beating of drums and bursting of crackers.

Talking to reporters, Vij said the victory credit was due to party workers who had toiled hard. “The campaign was organised in a disciplined manner,” he said.
He claimed that the Cantt constituency was the only segment where no public rally was held and no state or central leader had visited the constituency for campaigning adding that the central leadership was aware of the potential of local leaders.

“The era of development has been ushered in for the Cantt, which has been treated in a step-motherly fashion over the last decade. I will leave no stone unturned to ensure all round development and growth of the constituency.

HJC chief loses
in Ambala city
In Ambala City, BJP’s Assem Goyal has defeated Haryana Jan Chetna Party (HJC) chief Venod Sharma by 23,252 votes. Goyal polled 60,216 votes, Sharma got 36,964 votes Himmat Singh (Congress) got 34,658 votes and Balvinder Punia (SAD) received
22,783 votes.
Venod Sharma is a former union minister and had won the last two elections on a Congress ticket, floated his own political party and fielded candidates in alliance with HJC.
Assem Goyal, who was taken round in victory procession, said a new era had dawned in Haryana and it was the victory of the people.

Cong MLA loses in Naraingarh

In Naraingarh, BJP’s district president Nayab Singh Saini was declared elected after defeating two-time MLA and chief parliamentary secretary Ram Krishan Gujjar by 24,361 votes.
Saini polled 55,931 votes and Ram Krishan got 31,570 while Ram Singh Kodwa (BSP) polled 30,736 votes, Jagmal (INLD) got 16,836 and Bhoom Singh Rana (HJC) got 3,101 votes.
Mullana taken
by 5,600 votes
In Mullana, Santosh Sarwan (BJP) has defeated sitting INLD MLA Rajbir by 5,649 votes, while HPCC president Phool Chand Mullana’s son Varun Chaudhary Barara was relegated to third spot. Sarwan got votes 49,970, Rajbir 44,321 polled votes, Varun got 43915 votes and Karnail Singh (BSP) polled 12,797 votes.