Picture clears up at city colleges, panels announced | chandigarh | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 22, 2017-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Picture clears up at city colleges, panels announced

chandigarh Updated: Aug 31, 2014 15:39 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times

After the process of filing nominations got over at the colleges, final panels were announced. Amid hooting and cheering, the students announced their panels. At almost all prominent colleges final panels have been announced after the alliance and hardly any party aims to win the elections on its own. The one major reason for such alliances is the emergence of new parties which will be affecting the vote banks of major parties.

At DAV College, Sector 10, its Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) and Himachal Pradesh Student Union (HIMSU) that has formed an alliance and while for the post of president Bharat Walia is contesting, for vice-president it is Rohit Sohal, general secretary is Abhinav Chauhan and Harish Bera is contesting for the post of joint secretary.

Meanwhile, the Haryana Student Association (HSA) plans to go alone and their panel includes Sanjeev for presidents post, Dekid Palmo for vice-president, Gagandeep Singh Maan general secretary and Rajat Narwal for the post of joint secretary.

Another alliance has been formed by the Student Organisation of Panjab University (SOPU), Student Organisation of India (SOI) and those from Lokhit Student Organisation (LSO). Their panel includes Himatveer Singh contesting for the post of president, Saurav for the post of vice-president and Amit Dayal for general secretary.

Meanwhile, the National Student Union of India (NSUI) has formed an alliance with the Independent Student Association (ISA). Their panel includes president Janvir Singh, vice-president Sanghmitra Choudhary and general secretary Ajay Bansal.

At SD College, there is alliance between SD College Student Union (SDHU) and NSUI. The panel includes Sachin for president’s post, Palak Satija vice-president, Hiba Wadera for general secretary and Pavni Arora for joint secretary. Another alliance has formed between PUSU, SOI and INSO.

Their panel includes for president Jaskirat Singh, vice-president Loveleen Sharma, general secretary Ravneet Dhaliwal and for joint secretary it is Vikas Mallik.

At Sri Guru Gobind College in Sector 26, the SOI is going independent and was the winning party in the last elections. Their panel this year includes president Gagandeep Singh, vice-president Sheena Saini, general secretary Gagandeep Ghai and joint secretary Divya.

The ABVP has fielded just one candidate Daleep for the post of president. Meanwhile, another alliance has been formed by Khalsa College Student Union (KCSU), Gandhi Group Students’ Union (GGSU), INSO and NSUI.

The panel announced has Ramandeep Kaur for the post of president, Deepak Sangwan for the post of vice-president, Rajat Nain for the post of general secretary and Tamana Walia for joint secretary.

Tata Tea’s Anthem of apathy
Partnered feature