Pundri, the victory ground of Independents

  • Surendra Miglani, Hindustan Times, Kaithal
  • Updated: Oct 19, 2014 21:48 IST

Pundri constituency of this district has created a record of sorts by returning an Independent candidate to the state assembly for the fifth time in a row.Dinesh Kaushik has defeated his nearest rival Randhir Golan (BJP) in the election, the results for which were announced on Sunday.

In the 2009 state elections, Independent Sultan Singh Jadola emerged victorious. In 2005, it was Dinesh Kaushik. In 1999, Tejvir Singh became the MLA and in 1996, it was Narinder Sharma, who started the trend of winning without any party’s support.

It was in 1991 that Pundri last saw a party candidate — Ishwar Singh of Congress — becoming a representative of that constituency in the state assembly.

also read

End of the road for Bhupinder Singh Hooda?
Show comments