Punjab Cong releases list of 320 office-bearers | chandigarh | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 04, 2016-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Punjab Cong releases list of 320 office-bearers

chandigarh Updated: Dec 27, 2013 23:54 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story

Punjab Congress president Partap Singh Bajwa on Friday released the list of office-bearers of the state Congress body comprising 320 names by effecting wholesale changes. Bajwa has changed as many as 21 DCC presidents by bringing in his own loyalists. The only ones retained are both urban and rural DCC presidents at Ludhiana and Patiala besides the DCC presidents at Gurdaspur and Hoshiarpur.

Bajwa claimed he had tried to give representation to all sections of society. The list approved by Congress president Sonia Gandhi has a treasurer, 14 vice-presidents, 35 general secretaries, 61 secretaries, 34 permanent invitees, 27 district Congress presidents and 148 members of the executive committee.

Compared to the current list, the previous one had only 102 members, comprising seven vice-presidents, 11 general secretaries, eight secretaries, 16 permanent invitees, 27 district presidents and 33 executive members.

Reacting to the list, Amarinder told HT that Bajwa could have done a better job.

On the other hand, Bajwa thanked Congress president Sonia Gandhi, vice-president Rahul Gandhi and Congress general secretary in-charge Shakeel Ahmed and secretary in-charge Harish Chaudhary for accepting his recommendations.

Bajwa said every section of society had got representation in the PPCC executive and party workers at the grassroots level had been adjusted. He said that with the new list, the party would get a boost and face the political challenges with enthusiasm. He called upon all party workers to get ready for the Lok Sabha elections.

Bajwa has been constantly trargeted for not being able to constitute the PPCC body despite being at the helm of affairs for around 10 months. His attempt to appoint vice-presidents and general secretaries on his own after taking over was turned down by the high command.

Women and kin factor

Former Malerkotla MLA Razia Sultana has been named as the vice-president of the PPCC. Similalry, Aruna Chaudhary, Lakhwinder Kaur Garcha, Karan Kaur Brar and Roop Kaur have been appointed general secretaries.
Ajit Inder Singh Mofar's son Bikram Singh Mofar and Rajinder Kaur Bhattal's son-in-law Vikram Singh Bhattal have been inducted as DCC president, Mansa, and general secretary, respectively. Fateh Jang Singh Bajwa, brother of the PPCC president, has been inducted as general secretary.

Khaira left out

PPCC spokesman Sukhpal Singh Khaira, who has been the most vociferous face of the Congress in Punjab, has been left out while another spokesman Rajanbir Singh has been appointed general secretary.

A former MLA from Talwandi Sabo against whom a case has been registered has been accommodated as general secretary. Similarly, Sukhjinder Raj Lalli and Hans Raj Joshan who contested as independents against the Congress from Majitha and Jalalabad constituencies, respectively, in the 2012 assembly polls have also been accommodated as general secretaries.

Khaira said he had been doing his job sincerely and now it depended on the party to reward him or not.


Ambica Soni, Capt Amarinder Singh, Rajinder Kaur Bhattal, Preneet Kaur, Manish Tewari, Santosh Choudhary, Mohinder Singh KP, Sukhdev Singh Libra, Vijay Inder Singla, Ravneet Singh Bittu, Ashwani Kumar, Dr. Manohar Singh Gill, RL Bhatia, HS Hanspal, Shamsher Singh Dullo, Iqbal Singh, Laal Sinjgh, MM Singh Cheema, Ashwani Sekhri, KL Sharma, Kuljit Singh Nagra, Amarjit Singh Samra, Dharampal Sabharwal, Charanjit Singh Channi, Surinder Singla, Ch. Jagjit Singh, Ch. Santokh Singh, Sunil Jakhar, Darshan Singh Jeeda, Jagmeet Singh Brar, Kamal Chaudhary, Avtar Henry, Pritam Singh Bhinder.

The 14 vice presidents include Brahm Mohindra, Tarlochan Singh Soond, Om Parkash Soni, Gurpreet Singh Kangar, Charanjit Singh Channi, Sadhu Singh Dharamsot, Sangat Singh Giljian, Surinder Pal Singh Sibia, Sardul Singh Bandala, Randeep Singh Nabha, Rana Gurmeet Singh Sodhi, Kewal Singh Dhillon, Col. CD Singh Kamboj and Razia Sultana.

The 34 General Secretaries include Jagmohan Singh Kang, Jeet Mohinder Singh Sidhu, Aruna Chaudhary, Surinder Kumar Dawar, Harminder Singh Jassi, Ajaib Singh Bhatti, Mehtab Singh, Karan Kaur Brar, Parminder Singh Pinkyu, Bharat Bhushan Ashu, Fateh Jang Singh Bajwa, Harpartap Singh Ajnala, Joginder Singh Mann, Amarinder Singh Raja Warring, Vikram Singh, Ramesh Sipngla, Jasbir Singh Dimpa Gill, Tejinder Siongh Bittu, Kushaldeep Singh Dhillon, Joginder Singh Chinna, Lakhwinder Kaur Garcha, Harminder Singh Gill, Sukhjinder Raj Singh Lalli Majithia, Yoginder Dhingra, Pawan Adia, Major Singh Bhaini, Rajanbir Singh, Rampal Dhapai, Satnam Singh Kainth, Hans Raj Josan, Gurkirat Singh Kotli, DR Bhatti, Madan Mohan, Kuldeep Rajan, Dr. Raj Kumar Chabbewal.

The 61 Secretaries announced are Gurcharan Singh Boparai, Harchand Kaur, Mohammad Sadique, Kamaljit Singh Lally, Dr. Dharamvir Agnihotri, Prof. Gurwinder Singh Mamanke, Inder Pal Singh Dhanna, Gurmit Singh Pahra, HS Bhambri, Manisha Gulati, Gurpartap Singh Mann, Baldish Singh Toor, Jagdarshan Kaur, Rumal Chand, Anil Dutta, Sarbary Begum, Manohar Lal, Amrit Khosla, Puran Chand Mujadia, Swaraj Dhillon, Arun Walia, Abhey Singh, Varinder Sharma, Tirath Ram Sandhu, Harnem Singh Diwana, Harjinder Singh, Amarjit Singh Saini, Seth Satpal Mal, Manpreet Dolly, Gurwinder Singh Bali, Vinay Mahajan, Jagsir Singh Gagowal, Raj Pal Mahajan, Dhruv Aggarwal, Ranbir Singh Libra, Surinder Choudhary, Sunil Kapoor, Raj Kumar Garg, Jagpal Singh Abulkhurana, Dr. Ram Lal Jassi, Karamjit Singh Rintu, Rajan Garg, Davinder Darshi, Jaswinder Kumar Vicky, Baldeep Singh Dullo, Rajinder Singh, Anil Dara, Bhupinder Malot, Dinesh Bassi, Rajinder Pal Singh Randhawa Rani, Anil Sahi, Arun Bhapal, Gurdeep Singh Kothaguru, Vijay Kalra, Tarsem Masih, Anish Sidana, Jasbir Singh Pal, Rajnish Sahota, Anil Bholla, Mamta Dutta, Nirmal Singh Bhatian.


Amritsar City - Rajiv Bhagat

Amritsar R - Gurjit Singh Aujla

Gurdaspur - Sukhjinder Singh Randhawa

Pathankot - Anil Vij

Hoshiarpur - Sham Sunder Arora

Patiala Urban - Prem Krishan Puri

Patiala Rural - Hardyal Singh Kamboj

Kapurthala - Navtej Singh Cheema

Ludhiana R - Malkiat Singh Dakha

Ludhiana Urban - Pawan Dewan

Mohalil - Balbir Singh Sidhu

Fatehgarh Sahib - Lakhvir Singh Lakha

Barnala - Paramjit Singh Maan

Sangrur - Mai Roop Kaur

Mansa - Bikram Mofar

Bathinda Urban - Mohan Lal Aggarwal

Bathinjda R - Gora Singh Tungwali

Faridkot - Joginder Singh Panbjgraian

Tarn Taran - Sukhpal Singh Bhullar

Muktsar - Gurmeet Singh Khudian

Moga - Darshan Singh Brar

Fazilka - Koshal Kumar

Ropar - Harbhag Singh Saiini

Ferozepur - Chamkaur Singh

Jalandhar Urban - Rajinder Beri

Jalandhar Rural - Jagbir Singh Brar

Nawanshahar - Dharampal Bangar