Punjab govt reshuffles 37 IAS, 4 PCS officers | chandigarh | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Nov 18, 2017-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Punjab govt reshuffles 37 IAS, 4 PCS officers

Punjab government on Wednesday posted Jagpal Singh as Principal Secretary (Home Affairs and Justice) and Vini Mahajan as Principal Secretary (Finance) following a major administrative reshuffle of 37 Indian Administrative Service (IAS) and four Punjab Civil Service (PCS) officers. LIST INSIDE

chandigarh Updated: May 28, 2014 22:04 IST
HT Correspondent

The Punjab government on Wednesday transferred 37 IAS (Indian Administrative Service) and four PCS (Punjab Civil Service) officers, appointing Jagpal Singh as the new principal secretary, home, in place of SS Channy, who retires on May 31, and Vini Mahajan as principal secretary, finance. Twelve districts have got new deputy commissioners (DCs).

Mahajan, who relieves principal secretary, excise and taxation, DP Reddy of the additional charge of principal secretary, finance, would also continue as principal secretary, health and family welfare, and medical education and research.

Reddy, in addition to excise and taxation, replaces Karan Avtar Singh as principal secretary, industries and commerce. Karan would continue as principal secretary, investment promotion.

Financial commissioner Viswajeet Khanna gets forest and wildlife in addition to civil aviation and labour.

Principal secretary Ravneet Kaur gets parliamentary affairs, while Roshan Sunkaria has been appointed as principal secretary, higher education.

Anurag Agarwal has also been appointed secretary, transport, in addition to his existing portfolios of managing director, Punjab Infrastructure Development Board, and chairman-cum-managing director, Punjab State Transmission Corporation Limited.

Seema Jain has been appointed as secretary, SC/BC (Schedule Castes/Backward Classes) welfare in addition to secretary, science, technology and environment.

Jaspal Singh gets the charge of secretary, finance, and secretary, social security, in addition to the existing one (secretary, planning).

Additional chief electoral officer Raminder Singh has also been given the charge of director, industries, managing director of Punjab State Industrial Development Corporation and director, mining.

Vikas Pratap gets the charge of secretary, personnel, while managing director Punjab Agro gets the additional charge of secretary, sports and youth affairs.

S Karuna Raju comes back as director, rural development and panchayats, in addition to joint development commissioner, while Priyank Bharti rejoins as director, local government. Paramjit Singh has been appointed as director, SC/BC welfare.

Kavita Singh goes back as director, governance reforms, in addition to managing director, Infotech, while Basant Garg has been appointed commissioner of the Ludhiana municipal corporation.

C Sibin has been appointed as special secretary, home affairs and justice; Amar Partap Singh Virk as special secretary, civil aviation, in addition to additional director, civil aviation; Bhupinder Singh as director, state transport; and Varinder Kumar Sharma as chief administrator, Bathinda Development Authority.

In the PCS cadre, Pardeep Kumar has been appointed commissioner, municipal corporation, Amritsar, while Sandeep Rishi comes as chief administrator, Amritsar Development Authority, in addition to chairman of the Amritsar Improvement Trust. Rajiv Prashar has been appointed managing director, PRTC, Patiala, while Dalwinderjit Singh has been appointed additional chief administrator, Bathinda Development Authority, in addition to commissioner, Bathinda municipal corporation.

The posting orders of IAS officers SS Gurjar, Manjit Singh Narang and Vipul Ujwal would be issued later, a government spokesman said.

Here is the complete list: