Record 13 women elected to Assembly | chandigarh | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 28, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Record 13 women elected to Assembly

chandigarh Updated: Oct 19, 2014 20:26 IST
HT Correspondent

A record 13 woman candidates were elected out of a total of 116 who contested the 2014 assembly elections in Haryana.

These include eight women MLAs of the BJP, three of the Congress and one each of the INLD and the Haryana Janhit Congress (HJC).

Two former ministers, namely Geeta Bhukkal and Kiran Choudhary (both Congress) have been re-elected. Others re-elected are Renuka Bishnoi (HJC), Shakuntla Khatak (Congress), Santosh Chauhan Sarwan (BJP) and Kavita Jain (BJP).

Other woman MLAs this time are Santosh Yadav (BJP), Seema Trikha (BJP), Naina Singh Chautala (INLD), Latika Sharma (BJP), Rohita Rewri (BJP), Bimla Chaudhary (BJP) and Prem Lata (BJP).

The earlier record of woman MLAs in Haryana was 11 (out of 60) in 2005, while there were nine (out of 68) in 2009.

Seven women were elected in 1968 and 1982, six in 1991, five in 1987, four each in 1972, 1977, 1996 and 2000.

In the first assembly elections of the state in 1967, eight female candidates had contested, of which four were declared elected.