SAD-BJP alliance ahead in early trends | chandigarh | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 20, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

SAD-BJP alliance ahead in early trends

chandigarh Updated: Mar 06, 2012 11:02 IST
sad-bjp alliance

The ruling SAD-BJP alliance was ahead in Punjab leading in 57 seats while Congress was leading in 33 as per early trends available in the counting of votes for 117 Assembly constituencies till 9:30 am.

The Congress was leading in Ghanaur, Amritsar Central, Khadoor Sahab, Garh Shankar, Talwandi Sabo, Rajpura, Fatehgarh Churian, Samana and Patiala. Former chief minister Amarinder Singh was leading in Patiala and his son Raninder Singh from Samana.

The SAD was leading in Raja Sansi, Sultanpur Lodhi, Faridkot, Nabha, Barnala, Attari, Ropar and Balachaur. Punjab Assembly Speaker Nirmal Singh Kahlon was trailing in Fatehgarh Churian. The BJP was leading in Phagwara, Anandpur Sahib and Dasuya while an independent was leading from Amritsar East.

SAD leader and Punjab chief minister Parkash Singh Badal was leading over his nearest rival and his younger brother Gurdas Singh Badal from Lambi constituency by 1750 votes. According to early trends former Finance Minister Manpreet Singh Badal-led Sanja Morcha has failed to open its account so far.

Manpreet estranged nephew of chief minister Badal and President of People's Party of Punjab was trailing in early trends from Gidderbaha constituency over Congress rival and youth leader Amarinder Singh Warring who is contesting polls for the first time. SAD was leading in all the four assembly segments in Moga district.

From Jalandhar Central BJP's senior leader Manoranjan Kalia of the BJP was ahead over his nearest Congress rival Rajinder Beri. From Pathankot state BJP President Ashwani Sharma of the BJP was leading while State Congress President Amarinder Singh's son Raninder Singh was trailing from Samana constituency by 1632 votes.

Kewal Singh Dhillon of the Congress was now ahead from Barnala segment over SAD's Malkit Singh Kittu after trailing initially. From Mehal Kalan (SC) Congress Harchand Kaur was leading over Gobind Singh Kanjla of the SAD. From Jalandhaw West Bhagat Chunni Lal of the BJP was leading over Congress Suman Kaypee.

In Adampur segment in Jalandhar district Pawan Tinoo of SAD was ahead of Congress Satnam Singh Kainth. Revenue Minister Ajit Singh Kohar of SAD was leading over CD Kamboj of Congress. From Qadian Charanjit Kaur Bajwa of Congress was leading over Punjab minister Sewa Singh Sekhwan by a slender margin.