SAD fields Gubhaya, Gulshan to retain Ferozepur, Faridkot | chandigarh | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 24, 2017-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

SAD fields Gubhaya, Gulshan to retain Ferozepur, Faridkot

chandigarh Updated: Mar 06, 2014 00:04 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Sher Singh Ghubaya

The Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) on Wednesday announced the candidature of its sitting MPs Sher Singh Ghubhaya and Paramjit Kaur Gulshan from their respective Ferozepur and Faridkot seats, and that of Deepinder Singh Dhillon from Patiala.

Gushan would be trying her fate for a third tenure, as she earlier made her debut in Parliament in 2004 from Bathinda, the then reserved constituency, and then from Faridkot 2009. The Faridkot seat had replaced Bathinda as a reserved LS constituency following delimitation.

Gubhaya was elected as MP for the first time in 2009 as he then resigned as SAD MLA from Jalalabad, vacating the assembly segment for party president Sukhbir Badal.

Deepinder Singh Dhillon would be facing the sitting Congress MP Preneet Kaur in Patiala.

The SAD has now announced all its 10 candidates amid its alliance with the BJP that is yet to field its candidates from Gurdaspur, Hoshiarpur and Amritsar.

Gulshan, talking to HT here, said she was in a jubilant mood as she has got "another chance to serve the people of the state".

She said the main plank in these elections would remain the elevation of Narendra Modi as the country's prime minister. "People want a change as they are fed up with the Congress-led UPA regime amid unemployment and price rise".

"Manmohan Singh has remained a weak prime minister in the hands of the Congress who has not done any good to the nation," she added.