Savitri Jindal, Aftab Ahmed take oath as Hry min | chandigarh | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 25, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Savitri Jindal, Aftab Ahmed take oath as Hry min

chandigarh Updated: Oct 29, 2013 19:57 IST

Congress MLAs from Hisar and Nuh, Savitri Jindal and Aftab Ahmed were today inducted in the Council of ministers in Haryana, as the much-awaited expansion of Bhupinder Singh Hooda cabinet took place.

The two were sworn in as ministers, with Governor Jagannath Pahadia administering the oath of office and secrecy to them at a function held at Haryana Raj Bhawan on Tuesday.

With the induction of the two, the number of ministers in the cabinet, including the chief minister has reached 14, which is the upper limit for number of ministers in state.

The vacancies in the cabinet were created after OP Jain and Gopal Kanda, both Independents, had to resign after their names figured in different criminal cases.

Chief minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda, a number of Haryana ministers, MLAs and the family members of the two newly inducted ministers were among others present on the occasion.

Talking to reporters later, both Jindal and Ahmed thanked Congress president Sonia Gandhi, party vice president Rahul Gandhi and Hooda and said their priority would be to work for the development of the State.

Chief minister Hooda had himself taken oath on October 25, 2009 while Ajay Singh Yadav, Randeep Singh Surjewala, Mahender Partap Singh, OP Jain, Paramvir Singh, Geeta Bhukkal, Shiva Charan Lal Sharma, Gopal Kanda and Sukhbeer Kataria were sworn in as ministers in November that year.

On January 28, 2011, the last reshuffle of the Hooda cabinet had taken place when prominent Sikh leader Harmohinder Singh Chatha, Kiran Choudhry, Rao Narender and Satpal Sangwan were inducted as ministers.