Scheme to conserve energy in industrial units launched | chandigarh | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 26, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Scheme to conserve energy in industrial units launched

chandigarh Updated: Nov 25, 2014 13:24 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times

National Productivity Council (NPC) on Monday held a meeting regarding enhancement of competitiveness at industrial units in Ludhiana by decreasing energy wastage.

The meeting was held at the office of United Cycle and Parts Manufacturer Association (UCPMA) in which office bearers of the association were present.

NPC assistant director Aman Gulati said the main objective of the Lean Manufacturing Competitiveness scheme was to enhance the competitiveness of the units by using techniques like waste reduction, increased productivity, introduction of innovative practices and imbibing culture of continuous improvement for making the units more competitive.

The scheme is being launched in association with the ministry of Micro Small and Medium Enterprises (MSME).

“For this, a group of six to 10 MSME units can form one mini cluster. Different clusters will be made for each cycle parts manufacturer. For each mini-cluster 80% of the cost of the scheme will be reimbursed by the MSME ministry,” Gulati said.

He said 20% of the scheme amount would be borne by the cluster members. “MSME will provide a maximum amount of `36 lakh to each cluster,” Gulati said.

UCPMA through messages will convey about the schemes to all the members so that maximum cluster can be formed in order to take the benefit of this schemes.

UCPMA officials have recommended Gulati to reduce the contribution of each industrialist to 10% instead of 20%. UCPMA is going to organise a seminar after December 15 in order to create more awareness about this scheme among the members.

“In this seminar, officials of NPC as well as MSME will come and give proper presentation about the scheme,” said Inderjit Singh Navyug, senior vice-president of UCPMA.

Office bearers, including Pradeep Wadhawan, Ajit Kumar, Acchru Ram Gupta, among others were present.