Stage set for mayoral elections | chandigarh | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 24, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Stage set for mayoral elections

chandigarh Updated: Dec 31, 2012 20:19 IST
HT Correspondent

The stage is set for the elections of mayor, senior deputy mayor and deputy mayor in the municipal corporation to be held on January 1. As many as 26 elected councillors and nine nominated ones will be exercising their franchise to elect the top posts of the House. The voting will begin at 10 am and results will be declared by Noon. Nominated councillor Babulal has been appointed as presiding officer for the elections.

The Congress had fielded Subhash Chawla for the post of mayor, Rana Kashmiri Devi for senior deputy mayor's post and Satish Kainth for deputy mayor. The BJP has fielded Arun Sood for the post of mayor, Rajesh Gupta for the post of senior deputy mayor and Malkiat Singh for deputy mayor. This time, BSP, who has two councillors in the House, did not field its candidate and will play an important role in elections.

As of now, the Congress has got 13 votes, including the vote of member of Parliament Pawan Kumar Bansal. The BJP-SAD alliance has 11, BSP two and one Independent. There are nine nominated councillors in the House.

In the past 16 years, Congress has occupied the MC's top post for 11 times, while the BJP-SAD combine has got the mayor's chair five times. With both groups expecting support from the other group, cross voting will also play an important role. If one goes by the Congress' claims, there are 22 councillors, including one MP, in its kitty.