Sumit, Prinkle enter quarterfinals

  • HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times, Chandigarh
  • Updated: Dec 18, 2014 12:38 IST

Sumit Pal Singh, a trainee of hosts Chandigarh Lawn Tennis Association (CLTA), defeated Sohrab Singh in an easy outing to enter the boys’ under-16 singles quarterfinals of the Shivalik Public School AITA Super Series, being held at the CLTA complex, Sector 10, on Wednesday. Second seeded Sumit thrashed his opponent 6-0, 6-1, in straight sets.

In the other encounters of the same category, third seed Suresh Dakshineshwar got the better of Rohit Kumar 6-3, 6-0, while eight seed Digvijay Pratap Singh ousted Akhil Duhoon 6-2, 6-1. Also, Aditya Vashisht, seeded fifth, eased past Danish Ahmad 6-4, 6-2 to book his berth in the last eight.

However, it was the end of the road for fourth seed Arnabh Bhardwaj and sixth seed Amit Beniwal after they lost their matches in straight sets. While Bhardwaj lost to Ramanjot Dhindsa 2-6, 3-6, Beniwal went down against Rishabh Sharda 3-6, 1-6.

Meanwhile, unseeded players Vipul Mehta and Sagar Sehrawat also cruised into the next round with hard-fought wins. While Mehta got the better of Drona Walia 1-6, 7-6(4), 6-4, Sehrawat humbled Shashikant Rajput 2-6, 6-3, 6-4.

In the corresponding girls’ event, Sumit Pal’s sister and event top seed Prinkle Singh made it to the quarters with a 6-1, 6-2 win against Seerat Sidhu. It was a smooth sailing for the other seeded players as well: While second ranked Neeru beat Jannat Khurana 6-0, 6-2, third seeded Sarah Dev got the better of Bindu Kulhriya 6-3, 6-0. 5. Fifth seeded Seerat Kaur Pannu and sixth seeded Anu Verma also logged straight set wins against Chetna Kumari ( 6- 3, 6- 4) and Himaanshika (6-1, 6-0), respectively, to move ahead. Elsewhere, seventh seed Ashpreet Kaur Bajwa defeated Harleen Kaur 6-3, 6-2, and eighth seed Smriti Singh brought down Rahat Mangat 6-4, 6-2. The quarterfinal line-up was completed by Kalaga Bhargavi, who thrashed Priyanka Jakhar 6-0, 6-3.

Results: Boys’ U-12 singles pre-quarters

Nihar Patel bt Aditya Mann 6-1, 6-0; [7] Nishant Dabas bt Kartik Saxena 6-0, 6-2; Krishan Hooda bt [3]Vishal Pagadala 6-4, 4-6, 6-0; [5] Shrut Mohan Nargeta bt Pranav Chopra 6-2, 7-6(3); Shreejit Sen bt Yash Dabas 6-3, 6-7(0), 6-4; [4] Nikhil Niranjan bt Yashraj Dalvi 6-2, 6-0; [6] Dhruv Tangri bt Ajay Singh 6-4, 6-0; [2] Gaurav Kurva bt Yuvraj Pandit 6-0, 6-0. Girls’ U-12 singles pre-quarters: [1] Sarah Dev bt Avneet Virk 6-1, 6-0; [5] Ananya Yadav bt Maansi Singh 6-1, 6-0; [4] Mallika Marathe bt Rhythm Aswal 6-4, 6-2; [7] Rahat Mangat bt Vrinda Shar ma 6- 0, 6- 3; [ 6] Poorvi Bhatt bt Bindu Kulhriya 6-2, 6-2; [3] Vanshika Chaudhary bt Priyanka Khanna 6-2, 6-3; [8] Sandepti Rao bt Renne Singla 6-2, 6-0; Nikita Kharangra bt [2] Sanya Singh (w/o).

From Around the Web
Sponsored by Revcontent

also read

BJP appoints Narendra Tomar as poll in-charge for Punjab, Saroj for Chandigarh
Show comments