Three appointed as members of Food Commission | chandigarh | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 26, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Three appointed as members of Food Commission

chandigarh Updated: Jul 27, 2014 20:25 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times

Haryana government on Sunday appointed retired IAS officer, Satwanti Ahlawat, former director general, animal husbandry KS Dangi and one Hemant Sharma as members of the State Food Commission. Deputy principal secretary to the chief minister, RS Doon, was earlier appointed as chairperson of the commission. An IAS officer, Doon, however, will have to seek voluntary retirement before joining the commission.

The commission has been constituted by the state government under the National Food Security Act for monitoring and reviewing the implementation of the Act. It will comprise a chairperson and five other members besides a member-secretary who shall be an officer of the state government not below the rank of joint secretary.

The Act stipulates that at least two women, a person each belonging to the scheduled castes and scheduled tribes - whether chairperson, member or member-secretary - will have to be appointed in the commission.