Three Haryana villages abstained from voting | chandigarh | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 21, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Three Haryana villages abstained from voting

chandigarh Updated: May 11, 2014 09:34 IST
Rajesh Moudgil
Rajesh Moudgil
Hindustan Times

Anguished over various local issues, voters of as many as three villages falling in as many Lok Sabha constituencies in Haryana boycotted the polling on April 10. The worst anguish was seen in Kosli village of Rewari district, which falls under the Rohtak LS seat, where nearly 6,700 electorates did not cast even a single vote.

The district of ficialst old Hindustan Times that the voters of Kosli village had boycotted polling as their demand to arrest about 17 residents of adjoining Bhakli village was not met.

A resident of Kosli was killed in a group clash earlier this year following a conflict over nomenclature (attributions to be written on foundation stones of a railway overbridge and a Kisan Sewa Kendra), officials said, adding the police investig ation was still on in the case.

Likewise, not even a single vote was cast at the two polling booths (Nos. 101 and 102) in Sultanpuria village in Rania tehsil of Sirsa, which had nearly 2,000 votes.

According to official information, the voters of the entire village boycotted voting as their demand of construction of a canal to use Ghaggar water during monsoon was looked over.

Residents of Bhoj Kutana village in Kalka tehsil of Panchkula district, which falls under the Ambala LS seat, also boycotted the polling. The the village which had over 770 votes refrained from voting as their demands — roads repairing and bus routes — had not been met with.

However, the villagers also rued no candidate visited their village and listened to their plight.

Interestingly enough, reports also revealed that only 27 votes of the total nearly 3,500 votes were cast at three polling booths numbers 51, 52, 53 at Kakaut village in Kalayat tehsil of Kaithal district, which falls under the Kurukshetra LS seat.

“Though the voting had started around 7 am, soon some wrong information spread out that the state government proposed to bring Kakaut village, which is under Kalayat tehsil, under the Kaithal tehsil, offices of which were at a farther distance to the Kakaut villagers,” said officials, adding that the villagers subsequently announced to boycott the voting.