Pakistan announces u-19 team to tour Zimbabwe

  • PTI, Karachi
  • |
  • Updated: Sep 08, 2009 18:30 IST
Pakistan selectors have announced a 15-member under-19 team to tour Zimbabwe after the African country's Cricket Union turned down an invitation to come to Karachi on security grounds.

The Pakistan Cricket Board had extended the invitation to Zimbabwe to tour Pakistan this year but they declined it claiming that the players' families were not willing to send their children to Pakistan due to the volatile security situation.

As a result, the PCB agreed to tour Zimbabwe instead from September 29 to October 14 as the team needs exposure before the ICC youth World Cup next year.

Pakistan has won the last two Youth World Cups in Sri Lanka and Bangladesh.

Pakistan squad: Rameez Aziz, Azeem Ghumman (C), Faraz Ali, Babar Azam, Hamad Azam, MUzamil NIzam, Muhammad Owais, Usman Qadir, Nasir Malik, Abdul Ameer, Kaleem Sana, Sermand Bhatti, Shahzaib Ahmed, Anup Ravi and Raza Hussain.


also read

Wade leads Australia to victory over England in 1st ODI

blog comments powered by Disqus