14 Bangladesh players to join ICL | cricket | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 24, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

14 Bangladesh players to join ICL

cricket Updated: Sep 14, 2008 15:47 IST
Highlight Story

Six current national players are among 14 Bangladeshi cricketers who will form a new team, named Dhaka Warriors, in this year's 'rebel' Indian Cricket League, media reports in Dhaka said.

According to a report in 'Prothom Alo', former captain Habibul Bashar and retired spinner Mohammad Rafique are among the 14 cricketers who are slated to play in the unofficial league to be played in venues across India beginning on October 10.

"Players from the current squad -- Alok Kapali, Aftab Ahmed, Nizamuddin, Shariar Nafees, Farhad Reza, Dhiman Ghosh -- are likely to sign lucrative contracts," the newspaper reported.

These players were part of the team that were thrashed 0-3 in the three-match one-day series against Australia earlier this month.

"The players will soon submit a letter to the Bangladesh Cricket Board seeking permission to play in the ICL," the report added.

The newspaper also claimed that current captain Mohammad Ashraful was approached to lead the team but he turned down the offer.