Anderson, Amla, Clarke top ICC awards short-list | cricket | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 06, 2016-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Anderson, Amla, Clarke top ICC awards short-list

cricket Updated: Dec 03, 2013 13:42 IST

Highlight Story

England's James Anderson, South Africa's Hashim Amla and Australia's Michael Clarke are in line for top honours at this year's International Cricket Council awards, the game's governing body said on Tuesday.

The trio were short-listed for both the cricketer of the year and the Test player of the year in the nominations for various awards announced by the ICC in Mumbai.

Others nominated for the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for cricketer of the year were England captain Alastair Cook, India skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Kumar Sangakkara of Sri Lanka.

In the category of Test player of the year, the other nominees were South African fast bowler Dale Steyn and the Indian duo of Ravichandran Ashwin and Cheteshwar Pujara.

The short-lists in 10 award categories were drawn up by an independent 32-person panel comprising former players and representatives from the media, match referees and umpires.

Cricketers receiving the highest number of votes from the panel will be judged the winners, who will be announced on a TV show to be broadcast on December 14.

The awards are based on performances over a 12-month period that ended on August 25, 2013 and included the World Twenty20 in Sri Lanka, the Champions Trophy in England and the women's World Cup in India.

The ICC also announced India's Dhoni as the winner of the People's Choice award voted online by fans, beating other nomineees Clarke, Cook, India's Virat Kohli and South Africa's AB de Villiers.

Dhoni is the third player to bag the award after the recently-retired Sachin Tendulkar won it in 2010 and Sangakkara won the vote in 2011 and 2012.

Dhoni was also named captain of the ICC's one-day team of the year, while Cook was chosen to lead the Test team of the year.